The Staycation by Michele Gorman – Book Review

*AD-gifted: I was gifted a copy of The Staycation in exchange for this post

During these “unprecedented times”, I believe that’s the phrase everyone is using, holidays abroad are either non-existent or pretty rare. So many of us will be all doing the staycation thing. Which brings me to this great little book – The Staycation by Michele Gorman. Two families with their holidays cancelled, need a holiday. So what do they do about it? Swap houses of course! Read on for my review.

The Staycation by Michele Gorman

Book Description

An uplifting, hilarious read about a cancelled holiday… and how love, laughter and fun can always be found close to home. For fans of The Holiday, Lindsey Kelk and Sarah Morgan.

Two families. One cancelled flight. And a last minute house swap…

Things get desperate for strangers Harriet and Sophie when they become stranded with their families in Heathrow’s Terminal 5. Each woman has her own reason for really really really needing the family holiday they’ve anticipated for months. But an unruly volcano has other plans for them. When their flights are cancelled, the families swap houses and discover that sometimes the best things in life happen close to home.

This ash cloud has a silver lining, even if no one can quite see it yet.

What I Thought

We are going to be all at home this year, so The Staycation is very appropriate at the moment. Except Harriet and Sophie’s families have no holiday to go on due to an ash cloud, not the coronavirus. Both Harriet and Sophie need this holiday to Italy for various reasons, so as you can understand are gutted.

However these two women who have never met before this come up with a plan while talking. Swap houses! Harriet will go on a city break to Sophie’s London house, while Sophie goes to enjoy a country break in Harriet’s farmhouse in Gloucestershire.

When the women show up at each other’s houses, you will see the differences. Harriet is organised and obsessive about her house and life, while Sophie is rather unorganised and chaotic. I think Harriet loves the challenge of putting Sophie’s home in order, and Sophie feels so happy to be staying in an immaculate home.

The Staycation is a book about the relationships of these two women and their husbands. I found it a good read. Not sure if I would want another family staying in my home that I had just met! But on this occasion, it has made a great book.

The Staycation gets a 4 out of 5 stars from me.

Where To Buy

 

You can check out my vast book review section here for more great reads.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.

rachel bustin
Thank you for sharing

3 thoughts on “The Staycation by Michele Gorman – Book Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.