The Orphan Sisters by Shirley Dickson

I’m back on a blog tour, the first for 2019! I’m aiming to try and do more this year. Reading is my relaxing time and that bit of me time. Anyway back to the tour. Today it’s my turn for the review of The Orphan Sisters by Shirley Dickson. A wonderful World War II novel.

A heartbreaking, unputdownable and utterly unforgettable story of two young sisters cruelly abandoned by their mother at an orphanage. Fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will lose their hearts to this stunning World War Two novel. 

Book Description

1929: Four-year-old Etty and eight-year-old Dorothy are abandoned at Blakely Hall orphanage by their mother, never to see her again. With no other family to speak of, the sisters worship their beloved mam – and they are confused and heartbroken to be deserted by her when they need her the most.

1940: Etty and Dorothy are finally released from the confines of Blakely Hall – but their freedom comes when the country is in the grip of World War Two and its terrors. Amidst a devastating backdrop of screaming air-raid sirens and cold nights huddled in shelters, the sisters are desperate to put their broken childhoods behind them.

But trouble lies ahead. Dorothy must bid goodbye to her beloved husband when he’s sent to war and Etty must nurse a broken heart as she falls in love with the one man she can never be with.

Etty and Dorothy survived the orphanage with the help of one another and neither sister can forget the awful betrayal of their mother, which has haunted them their whole lives. But when a shocking secret about their painful childhood comes to light, will the sisters ever be the same again?

My Review

I will be straight to the point. As a mum of two girls this story is completely heartbreaking. I can’t ever imagine leaving my two girls at an orphanage, like the mam of Etty and Dorothy did. But then I don’t live on the cusp of a World War.

The Orphan Sisters will leave you wanting to hug the sisters and care for them. I have grown a soft spot for Etty with her kindheartedness. For a debut novel, its well researched and you do feel as if you are a character amidst World War II, it’s setting is wonderfully realistic.

It’s a perfect read if you have a few hours to spare as you won’t want to put it down. It will get you absorbed into that era.

Available From

About The Author

Shirley Dickson lives under the big skies of Northumberland with her husband, family and lucky black cat. 

She wrote her first short story at the age of ten for a magazine competition. She didn’t win but was hooked on writing for a lifetime.  For many years she wrote poetry and short stories and got many rejection slips. Shirley decided to get serious about writing novels when she retired and signed with Bookouture in 2018 for a two-book deal. She has written two stirring World War Two historical novels.

Shirley says she is a prime example of ‘never give up on your dream.’ 

Follow Shirley on:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/shirleydicksonbooks/

Follow Shirley on Twitter: https://twitter.com/ShirleyDWriter

Blog Tour

Here are the other blogs on The Orphan Sisters blog tour, why not head over and check out their reviews!

blog tour for The Orphan Girls by Shirley Dickson.

Thanks to Bookouture for arranging the tour.

And thank you for stopping by today, you can check out my other book posts here.

rachel bustin
Thank you for sharing
  •  
  •  
  • 26
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
    26
    Shares

3 thoughts on “The Orphan Sisters by Shirley Dickson

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.