6 Month Baby Review

Well here it is – the 6 month review.

6 months have gone by now since the birth of baby girl. I can honestly say and I know my husband will agree with me that it’s been the best 6 months of our life.

She has brightened up our lives that no words can explain. Her smile is infectious, she is constantly happy all the time.

baby girl in the washing basket

Even when she had the bad sniffles last week she would let out a beaming smile through the snot running out her nose!

If all babies were like her I would have lots!

Weaning

So since her last 4 Month review a lot has gone on. The biggest milestone is that we have started on the weaning journey.

Her first tastes were just baby rice mixed with her booby milk. She just couldn’t get enough of that. Her little sounds she makes while she tastes the food are so cute. In between a hum and a mmmmmm!

Baby girl then tried some of Ella’s Kitchen carrot and rice with her milk. This was very pleasant with a rougher texture than pure baby rice.

When we got away from the baby rice stage we then tried just carrots. Nope not a lover of carrots. It ended up everywhere but her screwed up little mouth! She preferred parsnips to carrots. We have also tried sweet potato and peas too. Peas are a big hit! Got some lovely mmmmmm’s with that one.

We have tried some of the fruit purΓ©es as well while we have been out and about and the Aldi banana and apples pouch from the Mamia range is another great hit. It does taste nice as well. Might have had a sneaky taste of that one!

Well we have to know what are baby’s are eating don’t we!

So that’s our weaning journey so far.

We were lucky to be sent some of the Out of Date Mates to help remembering what we opened with the pouches and jars. They are so helpful and good for money saving as well.

out of date mates being used on the baby food jars in our weaning journey at 6 month

Formula

I am heading back to work in 10 weeks so I’m beginning to slow down baby girls daytime feeds and replacing them with formula.

My aim is to breastfeed her mornings and evenings and supplement with some formula during the daytime as well as her little solids.

If I could have I would have stored expressed milk and built up a stack but I don’t overproduce milk no matter what I’ve tried to boost it. She just drinks it all.

So plan b was the formula for day time. She still won’t take a bottle so the formula feeds have been in a little beaker. Which she loves! We have a pink  one for milk and a blue one for water.

The rolling over has been mastered, shuffling 360 degrees in progress along with moving backwards. Still yet to turn back over and crawl forwards! She loves to grab everything in sight, my glasses included.

Oh and is very interested in labels on things!

There you go the 6 month review. Pop back in a couple of months to see how we are doing at 8 months.

rachelbustin.com

 

Share

70 Comments

  1. October 1, 2016 / 3:26 pm

    Kids are the best gift from the God and weaning stage seems to be one of the most complex things. Glad to know she’s going well. And good luck for your prep for work.

  2. August 30, 2016 / 11:10 am

    She is so cute. Kids are always cute that way. Wish your family well and happy #KCACOLS

  3. August 25, 2016 / 11:55 am

    little lovely angel, i love all the pictures. it touched my heart. please share more post about your little girl, i’d love to see her growing in your love πŸ™‚

  4. August 20, 2016 / 9:00 pm

    This is a lovely review of the past 6 months she looks like she’s really enjoying weaning #kcacols

  5. August 20, 2016 / 12:59 am

    Aww bless! Both of mine like carrots now as toddlers, but neither of them would eat them during early weaning either! My eldest actually took to solid food weaning so well and quickly that she dropped all but her first thing in morning & before bed breastfeeds of her own accord really quickly anyway. Little one definitely did not though – she took a long time to eat much (still doesn’t sometimes) & kept all her milk feeds. #KCACOLS

  6. August 19, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    Lovely little review. Like the look of those labels. #KCACOLS

    Nadia – Scandimummy x

  7. August 19, 2016 / 3:52 pm

    Weaning is such fun at the start, I remember like it was yesterday when I started weaning my son and introducing solids now he’s 10 months old. Good luck with going back to work; I know what you mean when you said about your milk supply not being very high (my supply wasn’t great). I secretly envy mummies that are able to stock the freezer with breast milk before returning to work..lol
    Seems like your little one is doing fantastic and she’s developing very well #KCACOLS

  8. August 19, 2016 / 12:12 am

    Ahh this brings back some lovely memories for me. She is such a cutie and I’m glad to hear she is generally enjoying weaning! #KCACOLS

  9. Mrs Morgan Plus 3
    August 18, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    Those stickers are a fab idea. Your baby girl is beautiful xx #kcacols

  10. August 18, 2016 / 9:46 pm

    Ahhh she is gorgeous. The time goes so quickly – my second is 19 months already! Good luck with weaning and getting back to work! #KCACOLS

  11. August 18, 2016 / 5:36 pm

    6 months goes fast doesn’t it? She will be crawling an d everywhere in no time #KCACOLS

  12. August 18, 2016 / 3:56 am

    It sounds like you have a calm baby on your hands, you lucky duck! She sounds adorable! It’s so nice that you are writing all this down so that she can read it all when she gets older! πŸ˜€
    #KCACOLS
    Tori @ The Mama Nurse

  13. August 17, 2016 / 9:41 pm

    Oh beautiful baby girl! 6 months is a great age, they’re beginning to really develop their personalities #kcacols

  14. Rachel (Lifeofmyfamilyandme)
    August 17, 2016 / 8:29 pm

    Awe reading your post makes me miss having a baby (not that i want another one!) but the weaning and funny faces they pull are so cute! #KCACOLS

  15. August 17, 2016 / 8:07 pm

    I can remember the first tastes with my eldest. She loves fruit and veggies. #KCACOLS

  16. August 17, 2016 / 7:33 pm

    Happy 6 months! I always found weaning rather hard work, it’s great once they’re fully weaned but the bit in the middle with the purΓ©e everywhere was always a challenge. Your little one sounds like she’s doing though, long may it continue ur xx #KCACOLS

  17. August 17, 2016 / 12:39 pm

    Yay Happy six months! It sounds like she is doing fabulous and becoming such a good eater. I don’t know what I would do without Ella’s kitchen pouches. We still use them at 2 to help get his vegetables. #KCACOLS

  18. August 17, 2016 / 12:38 am

    6 months is such an adorable age! She is gorgeous! #KCACOLS

  19. August 16, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    Piglet went through a stage of being very interested in labels as well. Funny as he has no interest in them now! Good luck with your weaning journey. Ours is still quite fraught, and Piglet is two now! #KCACOLS

  20. August 16, 2016 / 6:52 pm

    Aww, the food noises are the cutest! Weaning was one of my favourite stages – enjoy xx #kcacols

  21. August 15, 2016 / 11:06 pm

    I think 6 months is my favourite Baby stage.

    They are still small enough to need you 100% of the time but their little personality really starts to take shape.
    They are also much more alert and seem to soak things up like a sponge. Sometimes you can even see it in their big eyes as they see somerhing new for the first time.

    Baby is so cute.

    Thanks for hosting #KCACOLS

  22. August 15, 2016 / 8:58 pm

    I love the idea of a six month review for kids – kind of like a job appraisal ! 6 months is a lovely age , it’s lovely to read about your love for your daughter , thanks for sharing #kcacols

  23. August 15, 2016 / 6:22 pm

    I don’t miss weaning if I’m honest. I found my squeeze station was a god send. It means you can put your homemade purees into pouches which are much more convenient for when your out and about. #KCACOLS

  24. August 15, 2016 / 1:05 pm

    Ah 6 months is one of my favourite ages although I have to admit I don’t miss weaning. My daughter point blank refused baby food and then was so fussy she basically survived on cheese and Greek yoghurt for a year. Glad your weaning journey is going better! #KCACOLS

  25. August 15, 2016 / 10:41 am

    This is so lovely to read Rachel. These are such lovely moments and milestones to treasure. They do, of course, go incredibly quickly – I’m sure you have realised just how fast. Very happy post. Well done for being a fab mummy and daddy x #KCACOLS

  26. August 15, 2016 / 10:29 am

    Lovely, I hope the weening continues to go well. It’s gonna be fun finding out what else she likes πŸ™‚ #kcacols

  27. August 15, 2016 / 9:06 am

    Aw your daughter is gorgeous πŸ™‚ both my boys absolutely love their food! They were always more into the fruit and veg than the meat funnily enough but they’ll pretty much eat anything now! I love the little mmmm sound they make….our ‘little one’ sits and bangs his spoon on his highchair until he gets his food now! πŸ™‚

  28. August 15, 2016 / 6:36 am

    Your daughter is adorable! When my boys started rolling over, I knew I was in trouble. I knew they were getting older (hadn’t hit me quite yet) and I knew mobility was right around the corner… My youngest loved tags as well. I ended up buying him this blanket called a taggie. I am not sure if you have ever seen these. They are actually adorable. Definitely check it out, if you’ve never heard of it! My son actually still messes with tags and he is already 2! πŸ˜›

    #KCACOLS
    Ashley- The Geeky Mama

  29. August 14, 2016 / 10:32 pm

    I love reading baby updates – I have a 2 yr old and 8 week old… It’s crazy to think I have weaning to look forward to again in just 4 months! She’s had a great start to it, well done! Xx #KCACOLS

  30. August 14, 2016 / 9:57 pm

    Sounds great Rachel. She is an absolute gem. I cut down the breastfeeding to mornings before work and evenings before bedtime and then I used to do a dream feed at around 11 when I went to bed when I first returned to work. It seemed to work ok. Good luck with it all. pen x #KCACOLS

  31. August 14, 2016 / 9:55 pm

    I found this age so lovely. I quite enjoyed weaning with my two πŸ™‚ #KCACOLS

  32. August 14, 2016 / 9:32 pm

    Aw, lovely photo! We have a washing basket fan too, although admittedly as she’s got older (almost 21 months) I sometimes hide it, otherwise we can be singing ‘Row Row Row Your Boat’ for a good half an hour!

    Hope the weaning goes well. It’s a very fun (but messy!) time as they discover new foods. Good luck with the return to work too. #KCACOLS

  33. August 14, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    Happy 6 months to your beautiful little girl! My baby boy is almost 7 months and he’s a little smiler too! #kcacols

  34. August 14, 2016 / 9:27 pm

    Happy 6 months! I loved the weaning stage. Even now 7 months in we’re still exploring foods! It’s great fun.

    #KCACOLS

  35. August 14, 2016 / 9:26 pm

    Love your pics! I love weaning my kids as they actually ate everything then. It was so fun watching their little faces change with every mouth full. Enjoy it! #KCACOLS.

  36. August 14, 2016 / 9:16 pm

    Lovely – you are lucky, too – not all babies are the same; my two were AWFUL for the first six months (I’m not exaggerating). So it’s great to hear you’ve had a wonderful time. She is gorgeous. #KCACOLS

  37. August 14, 2016 / 8:35 pm

    Oh, she sounds like such a cutie – I love a happy baby! I loved weaning – experimenting with all those new tastes and seeing the look on their face as they tried something for the first time.

    I never really got on with expressing either – I hated the sound of the pump in the end! #KCACOLS

  38. August 14, 2016 / 8:33 pm

    Aw!! Happy 6 months! Your little girl is gorgeous! Weaning is fun! Glad it is going well. We love the Mamia range too!
    That’s great that she will take milk from the beaker.
    I hope returning to work goes well and I look forward to reading the next update. X #KCACOLS

  39. August 14, 2016 / 8:30 pm

    Aw such a cutie. time really does fly. So glad you found something she will eat when not able to nurse.

  40. August 14, 2016 / 6:48 pm

    She is beautiful. Good luck with the formula and returning to work x #KCACOLS

  41. August 14, 2016 / 5:58 pm

    Aww bless. These times where they are constantly learning are so nice.She will be up and around before you know it x
    #KCACOLS

  42. August 14, 2016 / 5:31 pm

    Aw, she’s growing up so fast isn’t she! Next stop crawling and walking – then you won’t stop πŸ˜‰ #KCACOLS

  43. August 14, 2016 / 4:45 pm

    My little guys loves the Ella’s Kitchen carrot rice too. He’s always chuffed when thats coming out for dinner! I mix it with other mashed veggies now so he gets a bit of both. Exciting that she’s mastered rolling over and shuffling backwards – I’m sure she’ll work out how to get forwards soon enough! #KCACOLS

  44. August 14, 2016 / 4:18 pm

    Weaning babies, one of those exciting moments, isn’t it? Trying to let them try all sorts of food and stuff, just awesome. I also did the same when I was about to return to work, started slowly getting my babies reliant on formula rather than my breast milk only. #KCACOLS

  45. August 14, 2016 / 2:31 pm

    Aw, weaning is such a lovely, exciting (and messy and stressful) stage. It sounds like you are doing great. I was never able to to store extra breastmilk either and hated expressing! Mixing bfing, formula & food is the way to go! Good luck with your return to work. #KCACOLS

  46. August 14, 2016 / 1:51 pm

    Very cute – lovely record to look back on πŸ™‚
    #kcacols

  47. August 14, 2016 / 12:29 pm

    Awww how lovely. I’ve just started writing up Billy’s 6 month review post and it’s making me all emotional at how quickly it’s gone! Good luck with going back to work! xx #KCACOLS

  48. August 14, 2016 / 11:55 am

    What a lovely record for baby girl to look back on. Glad the weaning is going well #KCACOLS

  49. August 14, 2016 / 11:44 am

    The noises they make when eating at first are so adorable. My little one preferred parsnips to carrots as well! #kcacols

  50. August 14, 2016 / 10:57 am

    Good luck with going back to work. I think in some ways the anticpation is harder than the reality.The weaning sounds like it is going well though πŸ™‚ #KCACOLS

  51. August 14, 2016 / 10:34 am

    Good luck with going back to work. She is a cutie!!
    Weaning is such a big milestone in a baby’s life.

    #KCACOLS

  52. August 14, 2016 / 10:21 am

    Sounds like she’s doing fab! Baby smiles are the best! #KCACOLS

  53. August 14, 2016 / 9:46 am

    She is just gorgeous. Our little guy will be 6 months in 2 weeks and is also managing to move backwards and not forwards! They are so much fun, they turn your world upside down and I wouldn’t have it any other way β™‘β™‘ Sounds like the weaning is going well and best of luck with going back to work #KCACOLS

  54. August 14, 2016 / 9:37 am

    Good luck with going back to work. To be honest you night find in the next ten weeks that she cuts right back on her feeds – my oldest wasn’t even feeding any more by 8 months because she just loved food so much. Try not to worry.
    #KCACOLS

  55. August 14, 2016 / 9:10 am

    Good luck with the move to formula, hope it’s going OK so far? Weaning is such a big stage, isn’t it? Lots to plan and tidy up πŸ˜‰ Lovely looking at your post via #KCACOLS

  56. August 14, 2016 / 8:37 am

    I’ve got six months to go until baby number three arrives and I’m a mum to a newborn again – I can’t wait! #KCACOLS

  57. August 14, 2016 / 8:21 am

    aww lovely round up! peas were a big hit here too and still are! πŸ™‚ #KCACOLS

  58. August 14, 2016 / 7:54 am

    I loved the weaning stage and trying out our little girl on new foods. Good luck with the prep for going back to work, and don’t put too much pressure on yourself, but it sounds like introducing of formula is going well. Claire X #KCACOLS

  59. August 14, 2016 / 6:01 am

    Oh I loved the first tastes of weaning and the faces they pull! #kcacols

  60. August 14, 2016 / 5:26 am

    Awe she’s divine! I couldn’t fully feed so I had to supplement with formula, I spent a lot of time beating myself up about it, but all my babies were healthy and still are, a mix of breast milk and formula worked best for us #KCACOLS

  61. August 14, 2016 / 1:38 am

    She’s so adorable! My youngest is three. I miss having a baby…sometimes! #KCACOLS

  62. August 14, 2016 / 1:28 am

    Aw lovely. My youngest is 8 months. She has so much personality now. I love this age πŸ™‚ #KCACOLS

  63. August 13, 2016 / 11:24 pm

    She is a cutie!! Weaning is fun- I remember wearing most of it when mine went through stages of raspberry blowing during dinner time!! Xx #KCACOLS

  64. August 13, 2016 / 10:58 pm

    She is so lovely! My little boy is over 6 months too and getting on well with the weaning process. Good luck for your return to work. #KCACOLS

  65. August 13, 2016 / 10:28 pm

    Gorgeous little one! Glad to hear all is going well. Weaning is a messy, complex old thing. Onwards and upwards! #KCACOLS

  66. August 13, 2016 / 10:25 pm

    Great to hear weaning is going well. We loved ellas pouches, they were great for when we were out and about. Avocado, peas, broccoli and banana were clems favourite things when we first started. Basically anything she could smush and make a huge mess with!x #KCACOLS

  67. August 1, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    I could never overproduce milk either – I just breastfeed the Popple mornings and nights now that she’s at nursery, and she just has milk or cow’s milk there. Glad to hear weaning is going well – the Popple isn’t a big fan of carrots either. She’ll only eat them if I hide them in things, like soups or stews. #triballove

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *