Blog Tour: Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren

Today it’s my turn to be on the tour for Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren. I can’t stress enough how exciting this YA book is. After the first few pages I knew it was a winner and a cracker of a new series.

Firstly here is a little bit about Prisoner of Ice and Snow.

Prisoner of Ice and Snow

Book Description

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.

But that’s exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.

No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison …

An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

View Post

Sharing My Favourite Quotes On International Literacy Day 2017

As you know I’m a huge book, stationery and writing fan, and when I was invited to take on an International Literacy Day challenge I got a little excited, ok well very excited!

The aim of International Literacy Day is to highlight the importance of literacy to individuals, communities and societies and it’s celebrated all round the world. This year’s theme is ‘Literacy in a digital World’.

Did you know that there are 775 million adults that lack minimum literacy skills? One in five adults are still not literate and two-thirds of them are women.

International Literacy Day 2017

View Post

Blog Tour: Death in Dulwich by Alice Castle

Hello, today it’s my turn to be on the blog tour for Death in Dulwich by Alice Castle. I feel very lucky to provide you with an interview from the lovely Alice Castle herself.

Firstly here is a little bit about Death in Dulwich.

 

Death in Dulwich by Alice Castle

View Post

Book Review: Right Handed Lefty by Ryan Coughlin

Over this past weekend I’ve been reading Right Handed Lefty by Ryan Coughlin. It is the type of coming of age book that brings back memories of that 80’s film Stand By Me.

Right Handed Lefty by Ryan Coughlin

 

Book Description

We all have baggage. Real friends help you carry it.

It’s 1983 in Boscobel, Wisconsin, in the southwestern corner of the state, known as the Driftless Area. Ellis Sayre is different. He’s a twelve year old orphaned Native American. His adoptive parents lost a son a few years ago and welcomed him to deal with their grief. While stealing day-old bread for a friend in need, Ellis and his two best friends—George and Mason—witness a murder by a local kingpin.

Authorities disagree with their story. They call it made up. The boys are trapped, worried for their lives, sending them on a flight to Grandad’s Bluff in La Crosse, WI, along the Mississippi River. Two peripheral stories about Ellis Abbot—a World War II veteran, and Two Right Feet—an orphaned Native American during early 1800’s, are entwined to unearth Ellis Sayre’s roots.

They combine to tell the truth.

View Post

Reality Rehab Blog Tour

Today I’m on the blog tour for Reality Rehab by Lisa Mary London, a debut novel from a journalist and former reality TV producer. Reality Rehab is clever, funny and full of hilarious characters.

I’m happy to share with you an extract from the book. but first here is a little bit about the book.

REALITY REHAB COVER

Book Description

Faded TV star Gloria Grayson has hit rock bottom. Sacked from her starring role in a top soap, divorced from hell-raising actor ‘Mad’ Tommy Mack, and obese from binge eating, her days as Britain’s sexiest blonde are well and truly over.

Gloria has gained 70 lbs when a paparazzi snaps unflattering photos and a cruel tabloid article relaunches her career. Instantly she and her fat, feisty dog Baby-Girl are booked for TV’s Reality Rehab.

Gloria is locked up with an American psychotherapist, a rabble of D-list celebrities and umpteen cameras, then put on a starvation diet. But worse is to come, with the shock arrival of her alcoholic ex-husband.

Tears and tantrums ensue as the divorced couple’s joint therapy sessions take over the show and ratings soar. The other celebrities are infuriated to be sidelined and Reality Rehab fast becomes the Tommy and Glo Show. But Gloria and Tommy are hiding explosive secrets from each other and 10 million viewers – Reality is stranger than fiction!

Read on for the extract!

View Post

Curious Beekeeper Nina by Kristiana Ambrasa – Review and Giveaway

This month’s book review and giveaway is of a lovely little book called Curious Beekeeper Nina by Kristiana Ambrasa. Baby girl is now at that stage that when she wants to look at a book or me read it to her, she will find the one she wants and bring it up onto the sofa next to me. She will then snuggle in for storytime.

We not only do storytime before bed but in the afternoons as well (when I’m not at work and we are home together). I treasure these moments as she loves turning the pages and will babble along in her toddler speak as I read to her. I still don’t have much of a clue what she’s saying but it’s very important to her!

Curious Beekeeper Nia by Kristiana Ambrasa

View Post