What We Leave Behind by Anna Mansell – Book Review

*AD-gifted: A copy of What We Leave Behind was received in exchange for this post. Affiliate links in this post will be clearly marked with a *

I’m back on another blog tour today. This time it’s for a beautiful emotional read What We Leave Behind by Anna Mansell. Read on for the book blurb and my thoughts on this novel.

What We Leave Behind by Anna Mansell

Book Description

Imagine you get home one day… and waiting for you on your doorstep is a gift.

It is wrapped beautifully, and inside is a notebook, its pages empty. There is no message.

But its sender has a story to tell.

About a secret. About the little girl you once were. About everything you know about your family.

The gifts keep arriving. But when tragedy strikes – leaving your beloved only daughter fighting for her life – the person who has been sending the gifts will have no choice but to come forward. And to finally tell the truth…

A heartbreakingly beautiful novel about motherhood, loss and family secrets, for fans of Kerry Fisher, Susan Lewis and Jodi Picoult.

What I Thought

Lisa is a single mum to 5 year old Poppy. She has worked so hard to be a good mum to Poppy when her boyfriend up and left them when Poppy was a newborn. When packages start arriving for Lisa it’s all a bit of a mystery. It keeps you guessing throughout with twists who the mystery package giver is.

One day, tragedy strikes and they are both involved in a car accident and Poppy is badly injured. All of a sudden Poppy’s dad in back in the picture.

What We Leave Behind is a good family drama novel. I must admit I found it slow to start but it soon started to pick up. Topics such as postnatal depression are included as well as motherhood, and relationships.

The author writes in a gorgeous way as to bring you right up to the characters where you feel as if you are living and breathing along with them. It’s my first Anna Mansell novel and I will definitely be checking out her other titles.

Where To Buy

You can buy What We Leave behind from *Amazon and start reading it within a few minutes on your *Kindle!

Author Bio

Anna Mansell author

Anna spent almost twenty years trying to shoehorn writing in to her career as a marketing manager for dance and theatre companies. Eventually, she did what you are not remotely supposed to do and walked away from an excellent job in order to try and become a published author. Three years, lots of tears and some slightly hairy bank balances later, she met Kirsty Greenwood and the rest, as they say, is history. Anna lives in Cornwall with her husband and two kids. She feels very fortunate! 

Blog Tour

Here are the other blogs on the tour for What We Leave Behind.

You can check out my book case of past reviews here.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.

rachel bustin
Thank you for sharing

4 thoughts on “What We Leave Behind by Anna Mansell – Book Review

  1. this book sounds very interesting,i love mystery books but also books that are thought provoking,i’ll be getting this book to read,thanks rachel

  2. This sounds like a wonderful read but I am too much of an emotional wreck at the moment with everything that is going on so I would have to leave this one until I felt ready but it does sound wonderful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.