Blog Tour – The Soldier’s Girl by Sharon Maas

**This post may contain affiliate links.

I love getting stuck into a good book, I don’t have as much time as I like to read. But when I do I pick my reads carefully. My latest one is The Soldier’s Girl by Sharon Maas. In fact I’m pleased to say I’m on the blog tour and today is my stop. As always I like to share a bit about the book and my thoughts.

Blog Tour - The Soldiers Girl by Sharon Maas

Book Description – The Soldier’s Girl

France 1944 and the streets are filled with swastikas. The story of a brave English girl behind enemy lines, a German soldier, and a terrible sacrifice … 

When young English nurse Sibyl Lake is recruited as a spy to support the French resistance, she doesn’t realise the ultimate price she will end up paying. She arrives in Colmar, a French town surrounded by vineyards and swarming with German soldiers, but her fear is dampened by the joy of being reunited with her childhood sweetheart Jacques.

Sibyl’s arrival has not gone unnoticed by Commander Wolfgang von Haagan and she realises that letting him get closer is her best chance of learning enemy secrets. Yet despite her best intentions, Sibyl soon finds that betrayal does not come easy to her.

When Jacques finds that Sibyl is involved with the enemy, he is determined to prove himself to her with one last act of heroism. An act that will put all of their lives in terrible danger…

A beautifully written, heart-wrenching and unforgettable tale of love and loss in a time of war. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes and The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah.

My Thoughts

I’m a huge fan of books set around World War II, and this one didn’t disappoint me. It’s a wonderful story of love, betrayal and hero’s surrounded by danger so you get that suspense element also.

One of the things I loved about this book was of how detailed the setting was. The descriptions brought such real life to the book as I was reading through, it felt as if I was there during the war.

The main character Sibyl returned to Alsace, France, her childhood home as a British Agent, not as a nurse in which is the profession she is trained in. Having spent most of her adult life in England. She speaks three languages so was the ideal candidate to help the French resistance. Shortly after parachuting into France, Sibyl met the Commander Wolfgang Von Haagan. Who happened to be the enemy and also the man who would steal her heart.

With strong characters who led the story from the start, you want to root for them and kind of protect them. Sibyl is an amazing character with raw guts. She is strong, yet kind hearted at the same time. It was one book I didn’t want to end.

Totally deserved of 5 stars.

Available From

Author Bio

Sharon Maas was born in Georgetown, Guyana in 1951, and spent many childhood hours either curled up behind a novel or writing her own adventure stories. Sometimes she had adventures of her own, and found fifteen minutes of Guyanese fame for salvaging an old horse-drawn coach from a funeral parlor, fixing it up, painting it bright blue, and tearing around Georgetown with all her teenage friends. The coach ended up in a ditch, but thankfully neither teens nor horse were injured.

Boarding school in England tamed her somewhat; but after a few years as a reporter with the Guyana Graphic in Georgetown she plunged off to discover South America by the seat of her pants. She ended up in a Colombian jail, and that’s a story for another day…

Sharon has lived in an Ashram in India and as a German Hausfrau–the latter giving her the time and the motivation to finally start writing seriously. Her first novel, Of Marriageable Age, was published by HarperCollins, London, in 1999 and reprinted as a digital edition in 2014. After working as a social worker in a German hospital she finally retired and now has time for her favourite pastimes: reading, writing, and travelling.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook

Twitter

Website: https://www.sharonmaas.com/

Blog Tour

Here are the other blogs on tour, so why not pop over and read their reviews?

The Solider's Girl - Blog Tour

A huge thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for my advance copy.

 

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you have enjoyed my review on The Soldier’s Girl.

You can find my book category here with lots of other reviews, extracts and tours.

rachelbustin.com

 

 

5 Comments

  1. Sheila Reeves (CakeReev)
    November 10, 2018 / 8:05 am

    Sounds like a really good read – and now I need to read more about Sharons’ jail trip!!

  2. Rosemary Tily
    November 6, 2018 / 8:53 am

    A good book to add to my list – thanks for the review.

  3. Natalie Crossan
    November 5, 2018 / 5:46 pm

    Sounds like a great read on a cold evening indoors under the blanket with a hot coco and a book!

  4. Jo m welsh
    November 5, 2018 / 2:31 pm

    Sounds a very good book thanks for the review .

  5. Margaret GALLAGHER
    November 5, 2018 / 7:41 am

    Thanks for your review – sounds a lovely read

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.