The House Mate by Nina Manning – Book Review

*AD-gifted: A copy of The House Mate was received in exchange for this post. Affiliate links in this post will be clearly marked with a *

I’m back with another book review for the blog tour of The House Mate by Nina Manning. I was intrigued by this one, due to the fact social media features in it. Spending hours scrolling on Facebook or Instagram is easily done and before you know it time has disappeared from you. Many of us are guilty of sitting in front of the TV in the evenings aimlessly scrolling.

The House Mate by Nina Manning - Book Review

Book Description

The perfect life? …Or the perfect lie?

When Regi moves into her new house share, she’s ready for a clean slate. A new home. A new routine. A new identity…

Desperate to escape the shadow of her past that follows her everywhere she goes, Regi finds the ideal distraction in the perfect lives of others on social media.

But as innocent scrolling turns into an unhealthy obsession, Regi will soon learn that seeking perfection comes at a price…

A gripping psychological suspense from the international bestselling author of The Daughter In Law. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, K L Slater and Jackie Kabler.

What I Thought

Regi suffers with OCD. She doesn’t share a lot about her domestic abusive past. When one of her new housemates shares an Instagram account with her called Mrs Clean, Regi develops an unhealthy obsession. It hits another level of obsession when a troll attacks Mrs Clean online.

The House Mate is told through the “then” and “now”. The “now” is Regi and the “then” seems to be about Regi, or is it? For me, it all got a bit confusing at this point! It’s a well-written novel, but you really need to get your attention span into overdrive to keep up with what’s going on. I’ve never read a book like it if I’m being honest. It’s definitely smart and a strong character-driven novel! I think I will need to read it again!

Where To Buy

You can buy The House Mate from *Amazon and start reading it within a few minutes on your *Kindle

Author Bio

Nina Manning studied psychology and was a restaurant-owner and private chef (including to members of the royal family). She is the founder and co-host of Sniffing The Pages, a book review podcast. Her debut psychological thriller, The Daughter in Law, was a bestseller in the UK, US, Australia and Canada. She lives in Dorset

Blog Tour

Here are the other blogs on the tour for The House Mate. You can check out their reviews and content. Read what they think!

The House Mate Blog Tour

You can check out my book case of past reviews here.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.

rachel bustin
Thank you for sharing

7 thoughts on “The House Mate by Nina Manning – Book Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.