The Book of Us by Andrea Michael – Book Review

*AD-Gifted: I received a copy of The Book of Us in exchange for this post.

I’m on the blog tour today for The Book of Us by Andrea Michael. It’s been a while since I read a book like this. Before the girls came along I used to read Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain books in one sitting on an afternoon. They were so involved in story lines. Now unfortunately that time doesn’t exist anymore. But when Rachel from Rachel’s Random Resources was looking to fill some spots on this blog tour, I thought I would try to get back into that genre. The Book of Us was a great one to get back into!

The Book Of Us by Andrea Michael

Book Description

The Book of Us is a story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life, but has enough time passed to heal old wounds?

My Thoughts

Heartfelt, emotional, friendships, secrets, and the ultimate betrayal. The Book of Us has it all. Lauren (Loll) and Cassidy (Cass) are university best friends. Loll is the quieter one, always in the shadow, whereas Cass is the boho wild one. While at uni they put together a bucket list book with everything they want to do.

Something happens and they drift apart. Seven years later, Lauren is going through a divorce, and Cass gets back in touch. She wants her and Loll to do everything in their dream book, along with Cass’s 6 year old daughter, because she is battling cancer. It’s a lot for Loll to take in. But she puts this aside and off they go chasing the dreams.

I found the book, very emotional. It’s heavily character-driven, and explores the friendship of Cass and Loll to a very deep level. I love the way it was written and how the author has interpreted the characters.

Where To Buy

Amazon and Waterstones

Author Bio

Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. Failing that, sparkling wine and obnoxious sing-a-longs also do the trick.

Andrea works in content marketing, and runs Writing for Wellbeing workshops. She lives in Hertfordshire with her fiancé and their crazy cat, and can be found reading in a comfy corner or digging something at the allotment.

You may also know her from her romantic comedies written as A L Michael.

Andrea is represented by Hayley Steed at Madeleine Milburn. The Book of Us is her thirteenth book. She’s hoping it’s lucky.

Blog Tour

These are the other blogs, who were on The Book Of Us blog tour.

The Book Of Us Blog Tour

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.

You can check out my book case of past reviews here.

rachel bustin
Thank you for sharing

2 thoughts on “The Book of Us by Andrea Michael – Book Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.