Silenced For Good by Alex Coombs – Book Review

*AD-Gifted – I was given a copy of Silenced For Good in exchange for this review

Staying at home has its benefits – I’ve been managing a few more books to read. I’ve literally just finished this one. Silenced For Good by Alex Coombs on the Kindle app on my phone. Here is my review as part of the last stop on the blog tour.

Silenced For Good by Alex Coombs - book cover

Book Description

Detective Hanlon is addicted to violence. She likes the rush, the danger, the losing control…

When Hanlon is suspended from the force for assaulting a suspect, she escapes to the remote Scottish island of Jura, home to the mysterious Corryvreckan whirlpool.

But wherever Hanlon goes, violence is sure to follow.

As soon as she checks into The Mackinnon Arms, Hanlon senses something isn’t quite right about the staff at her home for the week. 

Sure enough, within days of arriving, the body of a member of staff is found floating in the sea. While police believe she was claimed by the local whirlpool, Hanlon isn’t so sure. 
As she pieces together the evidence, dark secrets begin to unravel. Can Hanlon work out what is going on before another floating body is found…?

Discover an addictive new crime series, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Regan.

What I thought

It’s been a while since I last read a book from a crime series, but a good place to start was with Silenced For Good. I read it as a stand-alone novel and found it easy to get stuck in. Detective Hanlon is the main character and star of the series. She isn’t your rule-abiding cop, shes hard and I found her to be arrogant. Her tendency to be violent gets her into loads of trouble on a case so she’s forced to take a holiday.

Of course, she’s a person that has trouble following her, even to her time away on a Scottish Island.

I found Silenced For Good a pretty good read, I’m not keen on the character of Hanlon, but the way she is makes this an edgy crime series pushing boundaries all the time. And that’s what I do like about a crime series!

She gets on with getting herself involved with what’s happening around her in the hotel. There are some strange and shady characters for sure. You are kept guessing and thrown on different tracks with twists and turns. Which of course I’m not going to spoil for you!

The description of the stunning scenery on the island makes you wish you were there. I’ve heard many stories of the scenery from the Scottish islands from my sister who spent lots of time on Skye, Rum, and Mull. This reminds me of them.

Silenced For Good gets 4 out of 5 stars from me.

About Alex Coombs

Alex Coombs studied Arabic at Oxford and Edinburgh Universities and went on to work in adult education and then retrained to be a chef. He has written four well reviewed crime novels as Alex Howard.

Available From

  

Blog Tour

Here are the other bloggers on the Silenced For Good blog tour.

Silenced for good by Alex Coombs - Blog Tour Banner

You can find my other book reviews here.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.

rachel bustin
Thank you for sharing

3 thoughts on “Silenced For Good by Alex Coombs – Book Review

  1. I love a good crime book and have now downloaded this onto my kindle. Thank you for the review, I’m looking forward to reading this book 📖

  2. This sounds fab – love a good crime book but been a while since I have had time to get in to a good book! Think I might treat myself 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.