Saturday Catch Up: Blog Tour – The Paris Secret by Lily Graham

**This post may contain affiliate links.

For this week’s Saturday Catch Up post I’m on the blog tour for The Paris Secret by Lily Graham. Reading this book has been my “me time” this week, which I have desperately needed with two poorly girls. It’s been read at 2am, 4am 11am and various other naptimes in the afternoons. But the one good thing about The Paris Secret is that it’s been easy to pick up, at various points in the story when I’ve had to quickly put it down.

Thanks to Bookouture and Lily Graham for giving me the chance to read an advance copy of The Parish Secret.

The-Paris-Secret-Kindle - The Paris Secret

Book Description

The last time Valerie was in Paris, she was three years old, running from the Nazis, away from the only home she had ever known.

Now as a young woman all alone in the world, Valerie must return to Paris, to the bookshop and her sole surviving relative, her grandfather Vincent, the only person who knows the truth about what happened to her parents. As she gets to know grumpy, taciturn Vincent again, she hears a tragic story of Nazi-occupied Paris, a doomed love affair and a mother willing to sacrifice everything for her beloved daughter.

Can Valerie and Vincent help each other to mend the wounds of the past? Valerie isn’t after a fairytale ending, she only wants the truth. But what is the one devastating secret that Vincent is determined to keep from his granddaughter?

An unputdownable and unforgettable story of love, fear and courage in a time of war. Immerse yourself in a Paris where soldiers’ boots echo on cobbled streets and the air is full of whispers. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Kathryn Hughes and The Paris Wife will be absolutely hooked by this beautiful, tragic tale.

What I thought

The cover caught my eye to start with, I’ve never been to Paris but this is what I would imagine the streets with the little cafes and book shops would be like. I also have a love of the Second World War history, which I got from my mum, so I knew The Paris Secret would interest me.

Imagine you are on a train and you are sitting with someone you get chatting to and you end up telling them your life story. Well this is Valerie, an elderly lady sharing her life with Annie.

Valerie starts off with when she got to Paris wanting to know her family secrets and history. She had a job lined up in an old bookstore before she left home. The owner of the bookstore is her grandfather grumpy old Vincent unbeknown to him to start. She wants to find out why she was shipped off at 3 years of age away from her parents. Here starts an intriguing story, set over different generations with love, fear, sadness and a whole bundle of courage.

The Paris Secret describes Paris as if you were there, the characters are strong and well developed. For me it was just so great to read and get stuck in. A total tragic tale if ever there was one.

The Paris Secret by Lily Graham deserves 5 out of 5 stars from me. The best book I’ve read in a long time.

About the author – Lily Graham

Former journalist, Lily Graham grew up in South Africa, and spent much of her childhood buried inside the covers of a book. Her adulthood has passed no differently. Except that now she occasionally gets to make up some of the stories for a living. She is happy to report that most of her neighbours think of her as a cheerful lay about and no amount of protesting that lazing about in her pyjamas is actually ‘work’ she is never taken seriously. She lives in West Sussex with her husband and her beloved bulldog, Fudge.

Lily Graham

Lily is the author of five novels, including THE ISLAND VILLA. All her books have entered the Amazon Top 100 bestseller list.  THE PARIS SECRET is published on 4th October 2018.

Blog Tour

Her are the other bloggers who have been a part of the blog tour for The Paris Secret.

he Paris Secret - Blog Tour

Available from

 

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you have enjoyed this post and blog tour, I certainly have!

You can check out my blog book section here, for other reviews, guest posts and more.

rachelbustin.com

 

2 Comments

  1. Amy simpson
    October 18, 2018 / 11:36 am

    What a great sounding storyline x

  2. Margaret GALLAGHER
    October 6, 2018 / 8:36 am

    Sounds a delight – one I’ll be looking out for

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.