Beautifully Different Review and Giveaway

I love to read books to baby girl, we have our reading time in the afternoons as I find before bedtime is a bit distracting for her. This week we have been reading Beautifully Different by Dana Salim. Beautifully Different is book 2 in Yousuf’s Everyday Adventures series. Book 1 is called Dreamland with Mommy and takes readers on a magical journey to dreamland.

The main aim of Beautifully Different is to help children understand that every single one of us is different and that’s what makes us beautiful.

Beautifully Different by Dana Salim

Book Description

Yousuf wonders if being different is a good or a bad thing. Kids who are different get teased, bullied and picked on. It would be a lot simpler if everyone were the same. Yousuf’s dad suggests that he play the Time Travel game to see if he can find some answers. Yousuf loves that game. He settles back in a comfortable position, closes his eyes, clears his mind of distracting thoughts, and before he knows it, he is on a boat heading towards a far-away island.

Why are people different?

Why can’t we be the same?

Find out with Yousuf,

in the Imagination Game.

Get yourself ready

to sing, swing and shout!

The Weeds are coming,

and there’s only one way out.

 

Beautifully Different

Our Review

The illustrations are fun, bright and striking so perfect for little ones. Baby girl like all toddlers her age has a very short attention span at the moment so a book like this with simple yet fascinating illustrations kept her occupied while I read through the book with her. She did try to get ahead while trying to turn the pages!

The story starts with Yousuf playing with blocks on the floor with his dad. He asks his dad a question..

Daddy, some of the kids in my class are different than me.  Why is that? Why can’t we all be the same?

Yousuf’s dad then explains that to find the answer he needs to play the imagination game with him. Here Yousuf is taken to ‘imagination land’ where he finds himself in a world of flowers that are going to be taken over by ugly weeds. It’s Yousuf’s mission to try and save the flowers.

Beautifully Different portrays diversity and is a tool to help us explain that we are all different and beautiful in our own way.

Beautifully different

I recommend this book for pre-school ages, Baby girl is a little to young to understand what the book is about, but loved looking at the illustrations.

I have given Beautifully Different 4 out of 5 stars.

Beautifully Different book review

Giveaway

The lovely people at Book Publicity Services have kindly let me giveaway 1 copy to my readers. This competition is also open internationally so everyone can enter!

To enter please fill in the rafflecopter below.

Good Luck!

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Terms and Conditions – There is one copy of Beautifully Different to giveaway . The prize is non-transferable and no cash alternative will be offered. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter.com from all valid entries and be notified by Twitter. The winner will have 28 days to respond with a valid address before a new winner is selected. Open to all International entrants aged 18 or over. Facebook and Twitter are in no way associated with this giveaway. The prize will be arranged by Book Publicity Services. Please allow more time than usual to receive the prize as it may be shipped from the US.

 

 

Thank you for sharing
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

41 Comments

  1. maureen parker
    6th June 2017 / 10:24 pm

    What a lovely review of a lovely book i would love to read this to my Granddaughter who is 2

  2. Lia Burns
    6th June 2017 / 9:46 pm

    I love the sound of this, children are so innocent

  3. Hayley Todd
    6th June 2017 / 7:31 pm

    Thank you for the review of this lovely book! I’ve just got home from a hectic day in work, which also included an almost 2 hour pension presentation! What fun!

  4. julie baxter
    6th June 2017 / 3:51 pm

    brilliant giveaway

  5. Jemma Dwyer
    6th June 2017 / 3:44 pm

    love to win this fab prize x

  6. Kate Sabin-Burns
    6th June 2017 / 2:39 pm

    ✿ Lovely prize! Thanks so much for the comp 😀 ✿

  7. Jonathan Hunt
    6th June 2017 / 2:31 pm

    Lovely looking book. Very educational yet fun to read

  8. Jenny Prest
    6th June 2017 / 1:40 pm

    My son is a book work so love to win this for him…thank you for the chance 🙂

  9. Lisa B
    6th June 2017 / 12:50 pm

    This looks a lovely book. Love reading to the LOs at night.

  10. Rachael Sexey
    6th June 2017 / 9:29 am

    This looks looks amazing ????

  11. Danielle Pooley
    6th June 2017 / 8:40 am

    Looks like a lovely book!

  12. Paula cheadle
    5th June 2017 / 12:15 pm

    I love looking at your blogs, fab giveaway

  13. Rebecca Powell
    5th June 2017 / 12:08 pm

    This is a great giveaway, thank you

  14. Lara Latchem
    5th June 2017 / 7:42 am

    Really enjoy your blog thank you xx

  15. Sheri Darby
    4th June 2017 / 8:36 pm

    This sounds such a lovely book

  16. Simone Griffin
    3rd June 2017 / 5:00 pm

    Great prize and another great blog ????

  17. Stacey McKernan
    1st June 2017 / 8:30 am

    This is fab, my niece would love this for bedtime ????

  18. Kim M
    31st May 2017 / 9:15 pm

    Love competitions, enter all I can – always do yours – thank you x

  19. 29th May 2017 / 8:13 pm

    This book sounds like it tackles some really important questions 🙂 great comp #luckylinky

  20. Emma Louise Elliott
    29th May 2017 / 4:10 pm

    This book sounds great and I’d love to win for my daughter xxx

  21. Emma Louise Elliott
    29th May 2017 / 4:09 pm

    This book sounds great, id love to win for my daughter xxx

  22. 29th May 2017 / 8:41 am

    Sounds ike a lovely book and a great way of helping encourage children to embrace diversity and accept that everyone is different.

  23. Katie
    28th May 2017 / 9:53 pm

    Thanks for the chance fingers crossed

  24. Carly Belsey
    28th May 2017 / 7:11 pm

    This sounds like a book my daughter who is 2 would love, she loves the bright colours. Thank you for the review and the chance to win it

  25. Gemma Cook
    27th May 2017 / 12:22 am

    Love your blogs. Keep up the amazing work!

  26. Paul Halling
    26th May 2017 / 1:59 pm

    what a lovely day and a lovely blog 🙂 from us!!

  27. Tee Simpson
    25th May 2017 / 8:20 pm

    I love your blog????

    • Rachel
      25th May 2017 / 8:31 pm

      Ahh thanks Tee xx

  28. Sam
    25th May 2017 / 7:40 pm

    My son loves reading, this book looks lovely x

  29. Karl Borowy
    25th May 2017 / 4:51 pm

    reading greatbooks

  30. ELZBIETA ZNYK
    25th May 2017 / 9:53 am

    My daughter love books, so they would be very happy!

  31. kate kathurima
    25th May 2017 / 7:26 am

    what a amazing review book looks great

  32. Solange
    25th May 2017 / 12:07 am

    Sounds like a lovely book with a beautiful message.

  33. Harline Parkin
    24th May 2017 / 5:07 pm

    What a beautiful book I’ve been in my garden today and this stray cat keeps coming I’ve bought cat food but it’s very timid oddly enough it looks like my collie dog I lost a while ago

    • Rachel
      25th May 2017 / 8:34 pm

      Thanks, I think it’s a beautiful book as well. Wow thats lovely, my dad had this stray cat that kept coming around his sheds once. He has never left! xx

  34. Hali Kinson
    24th May 2017 / 3:36 pm

    Love the review, I love kids books like this, my little boy due august this would be fab!

  35. Rachel Craig
    24th May 2017 / 3:35 pm

    Presently attending a course, in which homework is daily journal :- To write down three things which I am grateful for. Previously came across something similar and term used was “Develop an Attitude of Gratitude”.

    Wishing you Fruits of the Spirit :- Kindness, Joy, Peace, etc.

    • Rachel
      25th May 2017 / 8:35 pm

      This sounds really interesting, good luck with the course. xx

  36. laura stewart
    24th May 2017 / 3:11 pm

    fingers crossed x

  37. Tracy Nixon
    24th May 2017 / 7:56 am

    Thank you for the review – this sounds a lovely book and the illustrations are so sweet!

    • Rachel
      25th May 2017 / 8:36 pm

      No problem, glad you enjoyed it. xx

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.