Blog Tour – Deep Fear by Rachel Lynch

Today I’m on the blog tour for Deep Fear by Rachel Lynch. A perfect crime thriller to get stuck into this Summer. On this tour I’m happy to share with you an extract from the book, to give you a little taster.

Deep Fear Cover

Book Description

DI Kelly Porter is back. But will this new case push her beyond her limits?

On a peaceful summer’s morning in the Lake District, a woman’s body is discovered outside a church. She’s been murdered and a brutal, symbolic act performed on her corpse. DI Kelly Porter is in charge of the team investigating the crime, and is determined to bring the killer to justice. But as more deaths occur it is clear this is the work of a disturbed, dangerous and determined individual. Can Kelly put the puzzle pieces together before the danger comes closer to home?

Don’t miss this gripping crime thriller featuring an unforgettable detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Robert Bryndza.

View Post

Blog Tour – If He Wakes by Zoe Lea

Today it’s my turn to be on the blog tour for If He Wakes by Zoe Lea. I’m sharing with you an extract from If He Wakes a fantastic thriller that you won’t be able to put down.

If He Wakes

Book Description

You can always trust your best friend… can’t you?

When Rachel discovers a Twitter message arranging a romantic liaison she assumes her husband is having an affair, and follows him. What she witnesses is so much worse: a hit and run using his car.

Meanwhile, Rachel’s friend and business partner Suzie is increasingly worried about her fiance, who’s not been in touch for days. When Suzie learns of huge debts racked up in her name she fears he has run out on her, but then the threatening calls start and she thinks something terrible has happened.

Rachel and Suzie are both about to learn shocking things about the men they love, worse than they could ever imagine… Can their friendship survive?

‘A tense, pulse-quickening tale. If you read the first chapter, you can’t help but read the second. I flew through this perfect summer read of best friends in turmoil in one feverish session.’ Paula Daly

Extract

Rachel had been talking about how it was going to be tight, not only because they had limited time to organise and plan the twenty-first Gatsby party, but because she was trying to arrange a holiday as well. She had it in her mind that her daughters should experience Father Christmas in a Nordic setting whilst they were still young enough to enjoy it. With Katie at fourteen and Jessica at sixteen, Suzie thought they were far too old already, but she knew better than to voice her opinion on matters like this with Rachel, so she kept quiet and went to fill the kettle instead.

View Post

Our Four Favourite Books on Sharing (for Siblings Who Don’t Share)

*This is a guest post from Petra over at A Mum Reviews on their four favourite books on sharing.

Back in autumn last year, my two daughters suddenly reached a stage where sharing became difficult. My eldest was nearly four years old at the time and my youngest one and a half years. They started bickering over most things and it was especially difficult for my eldest to share.

Books are a great way to start talking to your children about important topics and to show them different situations that might help them think about how they act in their own lives. I went online and started browsing for books about sharing – for siblings and for sharing in general – and soon found four books that I bought.

Books on sharing

View Post

Top Books for Encouraging Discussion

*This is a guest post from Gemma over at Mummy’s Waisted on her top books for encouraging discussion in preschoolers. 

We get through a lot of books in our house, with a five year old boy and two year old girl. There are some which have remained favourites for a long time though, through my son as a pre-schooler and now in Reception, and now onto my daughter. It seems that the books which stay popular for us are those which prompt a lot of further discussion, or attempting to copy what’s in the book!

cute kids reading book education - encouraging discussion

View Post

Potty Training with Little Budgie’s Done A Fudgie

Baby girl is now 26 months old. She is very switched on and has shown that she is nearly ready for toilet training. A few weeks back we reviewed the Step’n’ Potty from Bumbo, but she wasn’t quite ready for potty training then. When we saw the health visitor for her 2 year check up, she gave us some advice on potty training, but said to leave it for a couple of months due the change in her life of having a little sister next week. She said that with having a newborn in the house would be a big adjustment without having potty training as well in her life. So we will be back on the potty training in the Summer.

For now though we have been reading this great little book called Little Budgie’s Done A Fudgie by Simon Harris. It’s all about a little bird taking his first steps out of a nappy onto the potty.

Little Budgie's Done A Fudgie

View Post

Blog Tour: Seas of Snow by Kerensa Jennings

Last year I was lucky enough to read a truly mesmerising book Seas of Snow by Kerensa Jennings. To celebrate it’s release into paperback, I’m excited to be a part of this blog tour.

Seas of Snow by Kerensa Jennings

Book Description

1950s England. Five-year-old Gracie Scott lives with her Mam and next door to her best friend Billy. An only child, she has never known her Da. When her Uncle Joe moves in, his physical abuse of Gracie’s mother starts almost immediately. But when his attentions wander to Gracie, an even more sinister pattern of behaviour begins.

As Gracie grows older, she finds solace and liberation in books, poetry and her enduring friendship with Billy. Together they escape into the poetic fairy-tale worlds of their imaginations.

But will fairy tales be enough to save Gracie from Uncle Joe’s psychopathic behaviour – and how far will it go?

Seas of Snow is a haunting, psychological domestic drama that probes the nature and the origins of evil.

View Post