Coming Home to Penvennan Cove by Linn B Halton – Book Review and Giveaway

*AD-gifted: A copy of Coming Home to Penvennan Cove was received in exchange for this post. Affiliate links in this post will be clearly marked with a *

Today it’s my stop on the *Coming Home to Penvennan Cove blog tour. A tale of friendship, and love in Cornwall. You all know I love a book set in my beautiful home county!

Coming Home to Penvennan Cove by Linn B Halton - Book Review

Book Description

Can Kerra’s Cornish hometown offer the fresh start she needs?

When Kerra left the quiet Cornish town of Penvennan Cove for the bright lights of London she didn’t look back. But after the death of her mother, she’s decided it’s time to face her past and return to the place she called home. Her father needs her, and perhaps she needs him more than she’s willing to admit?

Tackling town gossip, home renovations and a flame from her past, it’s not quite smooth sailing for Kerra. Ross is the bad boy she was meant to forget, not a man who still sets her heart aflutter. As he helps bring her dream home to life, they begin to break down the barriers that have been holding them back and in the process learn things about themselves they never thought possible.

As friends old and new come together, the future in Penvennan looks bright.

Perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Phillipa Ashley and Julie Houston.

What I Thought

Coming Home to Penvennan Cove is a lovely novel about friendship, and love. Kerra has been through a tough time losing her mother so decides to sell up her business and leave her busy London life and go home. Return back to Cornwall to her dad.

Like most small towns, everyone knows everyone’s business and gossip is rife. This is something Kerra has to get used to. Kerra moves into a quaint cottage inherited from her grandma and just opposite her dad. Her next-door neighbour Drew wants to renovate his cottage and gets Kerra on board to do hers at the same time. When builder Ross comes on the scene, sparks begin to fly between the two. This isn’t for a little while into the story though.

I love the way this book builds the characters. Kerra reconnects with her old childhood friend and builds new relationships. There is a huge sense of community spirit in the cove. I live in a village with a community just like this. Everyone is always ready to give a hand!

The author tells us this story from Kerra’s point of view, so it took me a little while to get into as I don’t read a huge amount of stories in the first person. But you do get into how she’s feeling and know what she thinks! It flows along nicely as a story and one to read on a wet Cornish afternoon!

postcards from Cornwall

Where To Buy

You can buy Coming Home to Penvennan Cove from *Amazon and start reading it within a few minutes on your *Kindle!

Blog Tour

Here are the other blogs on the tour for Coming Home to Penvennan Cove. You can check out their reviews and content. Read what they think!

Giveaway

Thanks to Aria Fiction, I have 2 eBook copies to giveaway. All you have to do is fill in the Gleam widget below.

GOOD LUCK!

Win 1 of 2 eBook copies of Coming Home to Penvennan Cove by Linn B Halton

COMPETITION T&C’S
The giveaway ends 23:59 25th October 2020

The prize is non-transferable and no cash alternative will be offered. The winner will be selected at random via gleam from all valid entries and be notified by email within 7 days. Open to all UK entrants aged 18 or over only. Facebook, Instagram and Twitter are in no way associated with the giveaways. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry’s is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties. Your name and email will be passed to Head of Zeus publishers to fulfill your prize. Please allow 28 days for delivery of the prize.

By entering the competition you agree to your first name and surname initial published on the competition widget if you are the winner.

You can find more info here on my privacy policies.

You can check out my other competitions here.

You can check out my book case of past reviews here.

Thanks for stopping by today, I hope you’ve enjoyed this post.

rachel bustin
Thank you for sharing

26 thoughts on “Coming Home to Penvennan Cove by Linn B Halton – Book Review and Giveaway

  1. I’ve never been to Cornwall but I’d love to visit Liskeard. Researching family history I discovered my great grandad was killed in a copper mine accident there after which his family moved to Northumberland and my grandad became a coal miner.

  2. Truro Cathedral. My Great Great Grandfathers name is on the walls inside with the names of many from the area that died in the war. I saw it as a child but would love to see it again and pay my respects.

  3. I’d like to visit Padstow for the foodie experience – when my husband’s family lived in Cornwall they were in Penzance so we always sped past that part of the county and even now when we head to Cornwall for holidays, it’s always to the areas he has fond childhood memories of so there’s a lot of the county we’ve not explored.

  4. I haven’t visited Cornwall since I was a child so I would love to go back. I’d love to visit St Ives the most I think

  5. A big ‘thank you’ for being on the tour, Rachel, and for your lovely review – much appreciated! I think so many people dream of living in Cornwall but have to make do with visiting. I love Cornwall in winter, too… awesome!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.