Blog Tour: Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren

Today it’s my turn to be on the tour for Prisoner of Ice and Snow by Ruth Lauren. I can’t stress enough how exciting this YA book is. After the first few pages I knew it was a winner and a cracker of a new series.

Firstly here is a little bit about Prisoner of Ice and Snow.

Prisoner of Ice and Snow

Book Description

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.

But that’s exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.

No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison …

An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.

View Post

Book Review: What I Couldn’t Tell You by Faye Bird

I’m a big kid at times and love to read young adult books. I found the front cover fascinating on What I Couldn’t Tell You by Faye Bird. It’s compelling, dark and mysterious. Totally right up my street!

So when I was asked to join the blog tour organised by Faye Rogers to read and review What I couldn’t tell  you, I couldn’t say no.

What I Couldn't Tell You by Faye Bird front cover

Book Description

When love turns to jealousy, when jealousy turns to rage, when rage turns to destruction…

Laura was head over heels in love with Joe. But now Laura lies in a coma and Joe has gone missing. Was he the one who attacked her?

Laura’s sister Tessie is selectively mute. She can’t talk but she can listen. And as people tell her their secrets, she thinks she’s getting close to understanding what happened on that fateful night.

View Post

Book Review: Geek Girl (head over heels) by Holly Smale

Hello! It’s book review Monday again. This week I have read one of the books from the Geek Girl series called Head Over Heels by Holly Smale. The Geek Girl series are about Harriet Manners, a 15 year old geek. Harriet is not a trendy teenager and really doesn’t like fashion. Her best friend Nat does though, she aspires to be a model. 
Geek Girl-Bookreview

Book Description:

“My name is Harriet Manners, and I will always be a geek.”

The fifth book in the bestselling, award-winning GEEK GIRL series.

Harriet Manners knows almost every fact there is.

She knows duck-billed platypuses don’t have stomachs.

She knows that fourteen squirrels were once detained as spies.

She knows only one flag in the world features a building.
And for once, Harriet knows exactly how her life should go. She’s got it ALL planned out. So when love is in the air, Harriet is determined to Make Things Happen!
If only everyone else would stick to the script…
Has GEEK GIRL overstepped the mark, and is following the rules going to break hearts all over again?

Geek Girl-bookreview
My Review:
This is my first encounter of the Geek Girl series. I am really glad I have had the chance to read it. It’s fabulous! Funny, original, smart and of course sassy! The perfect read for any teenage girl. That’s my opinion anyway as a 33 year old mum!
Although this is the 5th book in the series, I don’t feel as If I have missed anything, by starting with this one, as there was a little recap. I may be wrong though. I do think I will dig out the other 4 as it’s such a great series.
So in Head Over Heels Harriet is single and preparing for her exams. Romance does crop up in this book for Harriet and I get the feeling she is growing up. The characters round Harriet are fun and so loveable. The author Holly Smale really has an amazing series on her hands, and I hear there is a 6th book on the way. The book is well written, and perfect in many ways. 
I was sent this great young adult novel to review. I do recommend it’s for ages 11-15 year olds but if you fancy something easy to read on a hot summer’s day this one is for you.
I have given Geek Girl-Head Over Heels by Holly Smale 5 out of 5 stars.
Hardback Edition 416 pages
Published 7th April 2016 by HarperCollins Children’s Books

The Secret Diary of Agent Spitback

Disclosure: I was given Geek Girl Head over Heels to review. All the opinions and views expressed are my own. I am also a part of the Amazon Affiliate scheme so if you click on a link to Amazon and buy, I will receive a little bit back, so thanks if you do.

Book Review: The Awakening by Stuart Meczes

I haven’t read a YA novel in a while and so when I saw this ebook of The Awakening by Stuart Meczes, I couldn’t wait to give it a go. I find YA books quick and easy to read with really great stories. This ebook is the first part of an urban fantasy series called The Hasea Chronicles. The second and third instalments are The Veil Corruption and Without A Heartbeat.

                 The Awakening by Stuart Meczes

Book Description

Alexander Eden is one unhappy teenager. A geeky, social pariah, he’s the victim of constant bullying at school. His home life isn’t much better with a stepfather who resents him and a half brother who is better than him at everything.

But that all changes the day the mysterious and beautiful Gabriella De Luca walks into his life. Everyone wants to know her, to be with her. But she is interested in Alex.
Because Alex is different.

Soon afterwards he is thrown into a world he never thought possible. A world where he and others like him are the last line of defence. A world where an ancient unspeakable evil lurks.
Evil which seeks to consume him.

DILECTI SURGEMUS – SOCII POLLEMUS
(Chosen we rise – Allied we prevail) 

The Awakening by Stuart Meczes
I have never read a fantasy series that has taken my breath away like The Awakening did with me. I have been totally hooked on this series, and as I write this I am halfway through the second instalment – The Veil Corruption. But I had to stop to write this review on The Awakening!
Stuart Meczes has created a brilliant concept of another world called Pandemonium which has endured an ‘endless war’ for centuries combining it with our world where a group called The Chosen protect our world from the evil that is trying to get across. 
The main character Alex Eden starts the story off by being a normal teenager that gets cruelly picked on at school and is subsequently a geeky loner. His life is the same everyday, trying to avoid getting picked on by the school bully. One day his life changes when a new student called Gabriella De Luca shows up in his class. From here on she helps him discover the real Alex and helps him through his ‘Awakening’. 
It is very rare for me to love absolutely everything about a book, but this is definitely one of them. It gives you the story of a journey for a young man, through love, loss and survival. 
I have given The Awakening by Stuart Meczes 5 out of 5 stars.
Rachel xx
Disclaimer: I was given this ebook to read and review free of charge. All views and opinions expressed are my own. Book cover image and book cover description taken from Tomoson.com.

Read With Me