The Butlins Girls Review

The Butlins Girls is not my normal type of reading, well I have slightly moved away from the crime/thriller genre at the moment as my last book was Come Sundown by Nora Roberts! I suppose I like the name The Butlins Girls because of Butlins, the family holiday park, so wanted to see if the book is anything like the park. A little strange of me I know!

The author Elaine Everest’s other book is The Woolworths Girls, now I was a Woolworths Girl back in the early 2000’s before they went into administration. I think that book will be one of my next reads.

 

The Butlins Girls by Elaine Everest review and giveaway

Book Description

A warm and comforting read, set against the nation’s favourite holiday camp, from bestselling author of The Woolworths Girls

‘Molly Missons gazed around in awe. So this was Butlin’s. Whitewashed buildings, bordered by rhododendrons, gave a cheerful feeling to a world still recovering from six years of war. The Skegness holiday camp covered a vast area, much larger than Molly expected to see.

Molly Missons hasn’t had the best of times recently. Having lost her parents, now some dubious long-lost family have darkened her door – attempting to steal her home and livelihood…

After a horrendous ordeal, Molly applies for a job as a Butlin’s Aunty. When she receives news that she has got the job, she immediately leaves her small home town – in search of a new life in Skegness.

Molly finds true friendship in Freda, Bunty and Plum. But the biggest shock is discovering that star of the silver screen, Johnny Johnson, is working at Butlin’s as head of the entertainment team. Johnny takes an instant liking to Molly and she begins to shed the shackles of her recent traumas. Will Johnny be just the distraction Molly needs – or is he too good be to be true?

My Review

The Butlins Girls is a wonderful saga, set in 1946 just after the war. I do adore books like this in the post war era, and this one is at top of the pile. The main character Molly Missons is a warm, kind-hearted soul who has been through a tough time lately with the loss of her parents. She has got a job at Butlins as one of the Aunty’s and makes really good friends there with Bunty, Freda and Plum.

Of course Molly has a love interest in the form of Johnny Johnson – a star! I don’t want to spoil how this all ends, but you are in for a treat. Put your feet up with a cup of tea and cake and enjoy, or take down to the beach a your Summer lazy read.

The setting of Butlins is an amazing idea, the author describes the place as if you are actually there. Along with the development of the characters and their lives, The Butlins Girls is a cracker of a book. I would love to read a sequel.

I’m giving The Butlins Girls 5 out of 5 stars.

 

Thanks for stopping by today.

*I was given a copy of The Butlins Girls in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. This post contains affiliate links.

 

49 Comments

  1. Scott Fallon
    July 9, 2017 / 8:51 pm

    No never been

  2. Caroline Signey
    July 9, 2017 / 8:31 pm

    Yes when I was very young, we went to the Bognor one

  3. Beatrice Benham
    July 9, 2017 / 8:14 pm

    No 😮

  4. Anne Eames
    July 9, 2017 / 3:07 pm

    Yes when by children we’re young to Bognor and Minehead

  5. Rachael Sexey
    July 9, 2017 / 11:14 am

    We have been several times in the past 5 years my kids love it there ????

  6. jacqui rushton
    July 9, 2017 / 11:01 am

    I have been several times!

  7. Tracy Gladman
    July 9, 2017 / 8:52 am

    Yes I used to go when I was little. That was in the 70s

  8. July 8, 2017 / 11:10 pm

    Yes for the first time last year, we went to Skegness.

  9. Mark Jowett
    July 8, 2017 / 10:51 pm

    Yes, many years ago!

  10. Emma Middleton
    July 8, 2017 / 10:36 pm

    I have been to quite a few with my family and loved it, very family orintated, great for the kids

  11. Elizabeth Yeates
    July 8, 2017 / 8:09 pm

    No! I worked on holiday parks as an entertainer for 6 years in Cornwall though!

  12. Simone Griffin
    July 8, 2017 / 5:23 pm

    I have but not since I was younger – we will be taking our family next year x

  13. Sheila Reeves
    July 8, 2017 / 3:48 pm

    Been on a day visit when one of my frineds was working there

  14. Danielle Pearce
    July 8, 2017 / 1:59 pm

    I have never been to Butlins but would love to go sometime xxxx

  15. christine westlake
    July 8, 2017 / 1:04 pm

    no never

  16. Lauren Old
    July 8, 2017 / 12:38 pm

    No I don’t think I have

  17. KATHY D
    July 8, 2017 / 12:05 pm

    Yes Minehead when I was a teenager and Bognor Regis many times.

  18. Avril Randall
    July 7, 2017 / 4:21 pm

    I have been to Butlins Pwyhelli many many years ago as a child.

  19. carol boffey
    July 7, 2017 / 9:43 am

    been to the minehead butlins

  20. JULIE WARD
    July 5, 2017 / 10:04 pm

    Yes to Barry Island and Minehead when the lads were little

  21. Sheri Darby
    July 5, 2017 / 8:18 pm

    No – But I always wanted to as a child

  22. paula cheadle
    July 4, 2017 / 11:59 pm

    yeah, been many times over the years, down at Minehead

  23. carole nott
    July 2, 2017 / 5:50 pm

    as a small child we went to Butlins many times – great memories

  24. Keith Hunt
    June 30, 2017 / 3:01 am

    In the 1970s to the old barry island camp

  25. Kevin Honey
    June 20, 2017 / 9:11 pm

    No

  26. Rachel Colclough
    June 17, 2017 / 10:56 pm

    I have visited Skegness Butlins. I had to leave the first time because of a kidney infection during pregnancy leaving hubby with young daughter to enjoy holiday on their own. I did subsequently have twins during that week. Returned a couple of years later for a family holiday. Kids always loved all the entertainment available. Now they are teenagers so have holidays in the sun, but would recommend Butlins to anyone with a young family.

  27. Pam Francis Gregory
    June 16, 2017 / 6:17 pm

    No never been to Butlins.

  28. lynn neal
    June 14, 2017 / 11:17 am

    We used to visit several times a year when our children were small but now we visit occasionally with our grandchildren who love Butlins!

  29. Jules Eley
    June 12, 2017 / 8:51 pm

    No I haven’t but one day

  30. Andrea Upton
    June 10, 2017 / 10:40 pm

    Yes but only for the day

  31. Jayne Wilson
    June 9, 2017 / 5:41 pm

    I’ve never been

  32. Kim M
    June 9, 2017 / 1:41 pm

    No I’ve never been

  33. June 9, 2017 / 12:40 pm

    We went to the Pwellti one on a day trip many years ago. We had a great day and I always wanted to go and stay but we never did.

  34. Janet Birkin
    June 9, 2017 / 8:23 am

    Used to go every year when my children were young

  35. Linda Ford
    June 9, 2017 / 8:06 am

    I went to butlins pwhelli in wales about 25 years ago! Its not there anymore, we had a fab time

  36. Spencer Broadley
    June 9, 2017 / 7:12 am

    No I have never been to Butlins

  37. Susan Smith
    June 9, 2017 / 6:42 am

    Have been to Butlins several times, expensive i think, but well worth it, plenty for the children to do, we have always had a good holiday with Butlins

  38. Solange
    June 9, 2017 / 3:06 am

    Yes, many years ago as a child with my family. Would love to go again.

  39. Elaine Everest
    June 8, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review, Rachel. Th book was fun to write and I enjoyed keeping it tore to life ay that time. I’m thinking of a sequel but at the moment I’m working on another Woolworths book for 2018. There are two more woolies books coming out later this year xx

  40. Rachel Craig
    June 8, 2017 / 6:42 pm

    Yes, many,many years ago. As a child with my family.

  41. Michelle Ferguson
    June 8, 2017 / 6:33 pm

    I have never been to Butlins before, not my type of holiday

  42. Paula Barker
    June 8, 2017 / 6:10 pm

    Yes, Bognor Regis starting in 1967 when I was four, even celebrated my 5th birthday there, loved it so much, and would cry when we left, always watched the fancy dress, glamorous granny, and knobbly knees competitions. And had hot doughnuts and knickerbocker glorys as a treat.

  43. Sue McCarthy
    June 8, 2017 / 12:13 pm

    No never been to any holiday camp type of place, doesn’t appeal. Maybe if I had kids it would

  44. laura stewart
    June 8, 2017 / 11:51 am

    no i’ve never been

  45. Annabel Greaves
    June 8, 2017 / 11:47 am

    No but it looks like a great place to take the family x

  46. Michelle smith
    June 8, 2017 / 11:10 am

    Quite a few times when my children were small they loved butlins and had a great time.

  47. Juli Savage
    June 8, 2017 / 10:53 am

    No not to Butlins, we were a Pontins family 🙂

  48. Leila Benhamida
    June 8, 2017 / 8:58 am

    I never been to Butlins. Will definitely try to go.

  49. Margaret gallagher
    June 8, 2017 / 7:28 am

    Many moons ago -think it was skegnesd

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *