Review & Giveaway: The Poppy Pym Series by Laura Wood

I had never heard of the Poppy Pym series before I was contacted. A good blurb on the book sold me I’m afraid in the email. So here I am reviewing this great series for kids, and also on day 1 of the Poppy Pym Blog Tour!

Oh and to host a little giveaway of the two books for you. I think they will make an excellent Christmas gift for kids.

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx book cover

Book Description

From the Winner of the Scholastic Montegrappa Prize for New Children’s Writing It’s Halloween at Saint Smithen’s. When the Brimwell town hall burns down, the amateur production of Macbeth is moved to the school and it’s all hands on deck. But when the play is struck by a series of mysterious attacks, it’s up to Poppy, her friends and her circus family to save the play and unmask the culprit.

My Review

I got into Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx straight away.  I actually read this book, which is book 2 before Poppy Pym and the Pharoah’s Curse (book 1) but I didn’t feel disadvantaged at all.

Poppy is a fantastic character that the author Laura Wood has got just perfect. Laura’s writing style is great for kids. Actually great for adults too! I used to love books like this when I was a kid. Mystery, suspense and a who-dunnit! This book fills that spot. I’m not embarrassed to say I adore reading kids books when I have a few spare minutes. If you are looking for a quick adventurous read, the Poppy Pym books are for you!

Title: Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx (Poppy Pym #2)

Author: Laura Wood

Release Date: 1st September 2016

Genre: MG Mystery

Publisher: Scholastic

 

I have given Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx 5 out of 5 stars.

Poppy Pym and the Pharaoh’s Curse

 

Poppy Pym and the Pharaoh's Curse

Book Description

The extraordinary story of a little girl raised in a circus who is about to embark on a boarding school adventure. Featuring an ancient Egyptian curse, two best friends (one who wants to be taller and one who knows everything), secretive teachers, dangerous accidents, a mystery to be solved and a menagerie of circus characters.

My Review

The Pharoah’s Curse introduces you to Poppy Pym and her circus family. Poppy was abandoned as a baby and brought up by Madame Pym’s Spectacular Travelling Circus. She is about to turn 12 and so her circus family decide to send her to boarding school to meet kids of her own age.

This book is full of humour, mystery, magic and mayhem. Perfect for 9-12 year olds to learn and gather a love for reading and how to get absorbed into a book you are unable to put down. Yet again like Double Jinx a fast paced adventurous read.

I have given Poppy Pym and the Pharoah’s Curse 5 out of 5 stars

 

Here is the list of the other bloggers participating in the Poppy Pym blog tour. Please pop over and have a look at the other reviews and posts.

Poppy-Pym-2-Blog-Tour-Banner

Giveaway

Now onto the giveaway. I feel honoured to be able to give away one set of Poppy Pym books to one lucky reader. Please enter via the Rafflecopter below. It’s open to all UK and IRL residents.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

rachelbustin.com

*I was given these products in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

*Terms and Conditions – There is 1 prize of a set (book 1 &2 ) of the Poppy Pym series. The prize is non-transferable and no cash alternative will be offered. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter.com from all valid entries and be notified by Twitter. The winner will have 14 days to respond with a valid address before a new winner is selected. Open to all UK and IRL entrants aged 18 or over only. Facebook and Twitter are in no way associated with this giveaway.

*I am a part of the Amazon affiliate scheme, so if you click on the link to buy I will receive a little back. So thanks if you do.

Competitions at ThePrizeFinder

SuperLucky Blog Giveaway Linky

136 Comments

  1. Joanna Kasznicki
    September 17, 2016 / 11:08 pm

    My niece Rosie

  2. Caroline Bourne
    September 17, 2016 / 10:56 pm

    My little cousin

  3. Rich Tyler
    September 17, 2016 / 10:55 pm

    My Niece

  4. Emma choonage
    September 17, 2016 / 9:01 pm

    My nearly 3 year old enjoys looking at books and talking about the pictures.

  5. sharon martin
    September 17, 2016 / 8:57 pm

    i’d give them to my daughter

  6. Philip Underwood
    September 17, 2016 / 8:51 pm

    My children!

  7. Kay Broomfield
    September 17, 2016 / 8:45 pm

    I’d share these with both my children

  8. Karen Howden
    September 17, 2016 / 8:05 pm

    I would give these to my daughter

  9. Karen Scott
    September 17, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    My daughter

  10. karen watt
    September 17, 2016 / 7:43 pm

    My Daughter

  11. nichola betteridge
    September 17, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    i would give them to my daughter 🙂

  12. Miss Tracy Hanson
    September 17, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    My great-niece Phoenix would love these. Thanks for the chance.

  13. kelly morgan
    September 17, 2016 / 5:42 pm

    These would be great for my friends daughter.

  14. Natalie Crossan
    September 17, 2016 / 5:38 pm

    My daughter xxx

  15. amanda greensmith
    September 17, 2016 / 4:09 pm

    my niece

  16. Spencer Broadley
    September 17, 2016 / 2:05 pm

    My young niece would adore them

  17. Teresa sheldon
    September 17, 2016 / 1:38 pm

    My daughter Katie, loves to read and would really enjoy these splendid books

  18. Andrea Morton
    September 17, 2016 / 12:45 pm

    my two daughters and I’d probably read them myself

  19. Jamie Millard
    September 17, 2016 / 11:49 am

    they’d go to my niece

  20. marie miles
    September 17, 2016 / 11:45 am

    if i was the lucky winner of these books i would give them to my daughter who is a huge book worm and loves reading.

  21. Rebecca Hussey
    September 17, 2016 / 11:43 am

    I’d love these for my daughter

  22. Stephanie Keill
    September 17, 2016 / 11:34 am

    My son would love this thank you very much for the chance

  23. Lisa C
    September 17, 2016 / 11:14 am

    The lucky recipient would be my eight year old; he would love these. He is a big fan of adventure and mystery books.

  24. Lisa Mcalley
    September 17, 2016 / 10:53 am

    I would read them to my special needs son and then my youngest two would have them as they love reading. I’m sure I would enjoy them too.

  25. nicola james
    September 17, 2016 / 9:20 am

    i would give them to my daughter

  26. Hayley TOdd
    September 17, 2016 / 8:25 am

    If I was the lucky winner I would give these amazing books to my daughter as she is the biggest book reader I know!

  27. carol boffey
    September 17, 2016 / 7:57 am

    My cousins daughter

  28. paula cheadle
    September 16, 2016 / 11:57 pm

    i’d like these books for my youngest granddaughter

  29. Sarah KNIGHTLEY
    September 16, 2016 / 11:03 pm

    I would give these to my daughter ❤️❤️

  30. Rachel Craig
    September 16, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    My nephew.

  31. Holly Walker
    September 16, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    my friends son for christmas (my daughter is only 1 but im sure he would read them to her or pass them to her when he is too old)

  32. Kate Sabin-Burns
    September 16, 2016 / 8:03 pm

    My Niece 😀

  33. Toni Pearson
    September 16, 2016 / 7:52 pm

    I would donate them to my son’s school.

  34. AnnaH
    September 16, 2016 / 7:23 pm

    My daughter is an avid reader but hasn’t tried these yet so I would give my prize to her

  35. christine WESTLAKE
    September 16, 2016 / 4:55 pm

    grandchildren

  36. Barbara Handley
    September 16, 2016 / 4:16 pm

    My granddaughters would enjoy these.

  37. Emma
    September 16, 2016 / 3:17 pm

    My little sister would love these 🙂

  38. Lisa George
    September 16, 2016 / 3:16 pm

    My daughter Sophie 🙂

  39. Victoria Thurgood
    September 16, 2016 / 3:13 pm

    My daughter

  40. Andrew Hindley
    September 16, 2016 / 2:58 pm

    I would give the books to my grandchild

  41. helen w
    September 16, 2016 / 2:41 pm

    my Great -Neice who is aptly called Poppy

  42. lynn neal
    September 16, 2016 / 11:16 am

    My four lovely grandchildren!

  43. Wendy Becker
    September 16, 2016 / 10:34 am

    Our grandson

  44. Elspeth MacMillan
    September 16, 2016 / 10:23 am

    My oldest Granddaughter Emma 😀

  45. Sarah Parker
    September 16, 2016 / 10:22 am

    my daughter would love these 🙂

  46. Lisa Houston
    September 16, 2016 / 8:13 am

    Id give to my eldest daughter Rhiannon. I think she would love them

  47. David Crabb
    September 16, 2016 / 7:33 am

    These would go to our daughter and thanks for the opportunity.

  48. Adrian Bold
    September 16, 2016 / 1:08 am

    I’d give them to my Mum as she loves these style of books.

  49. donna large
    September 15, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    my granddaughter brooke who loves reading

  50. Sheri Darby
    September 15, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    My daughter would love these

  51. Ed Hill
    September 15, 2016 / 8:06 pm

    My niece

  52. Kay Lou Smith
    September 15, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    My daughter 🙂

  53. Allan Fullarton
    September 15, 2016 / 5:42 pm

    My daughter would love these!

  54. jeremy mclaughlin
    September 15, 2016 / 4:42 pm

    Would be my niece.

  55. LEE HARDY
    September 15, 2016 / 3:52 pm

    I would give the to my daughter who would love reading them.

  56. Jodie harvey
    September 15, 2016 / 1:29 pm

    i would give them to my son Thomas, he would love them!

  57. Eleanor Baker
    September 15, 2016 / 12:34 pm

    My daughter Fiona

  58. Victoria Prince
    September 15, 2016 / 11:13 am

    I don’t care that I am far too old, these sound exactly the sort of books I loved reading! So I will be reading them myself, and then giving them to my friend’s daughter 🙂

  59. JO
    September 15, 2016 / 11:03 am

    My bookworm daughter 🙂

  60. Clare Munden
    September 15, 2016 / 10:47 am

    My niece would love these 🙂

  61. Emilia nastaly-howard
    September 15, 2016 / 10:10 am

    Surely my daughter 🙂

  62. A.E. ADKINS
    September 15, 2016 / 9:57 am

    Santa would be the initial recipient of these books in our house!

  63. Rachel Butterworth
    September 14, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    My niece.

  64. Joy Connor
    September 14, 2016 / 8:21 pm

    My daughter would love these I think!

  65. katie w
    September 14, 2016 / 8:12 pm

    I would give them to my niece as she would love them

  66. CHRISTINE SUTHERLAND
    September 14, 2016 / 6:09 pm

    I would give the prize to my grand daughters

  67. Jennifer Toal
    September 13, 2016 / 7:22 pm

    My step daughter

  68. Kelly Ellen Hirst
    September 12, 2016 / 10:49 pm

    My daughter – she would love them

  69. Lynsey Buchanan
    September 12, 2016 / 8:58 pm

    If I won I would give the books to my daughter.

  70. leanne weir
    September 12, 2016 / 8:11 pm

    my boy would love these

  71. Kerry Kilmister
    September 12, 2016 / 3:02 pm

    These would be for my oldest daughter – she is a self confessed bookworm like mmyself

  72. Donna Caldwell
    September 12, 2016 / 11:29 am

    My daughter she loves reading

  73. Kimberley Ryan
    September 12, 2016 / 11:03 am

    I would give them to my daughter, she loves to read and would really enjoy these

  74. Pamela Gossage
    September 12, 2016 / 10:50 am

    I would give them to my granddaughter

  75. Susan B
    September 12, 2016 / 9:35 am

    Our eldest would really enjoy losing herself in a quiet corner reading these books.

  76. Susan Hunt
    September 11, 2016 / 7:57 am

    I will leave them in the family holiday home for all the kids each weekend.

  77. Kate Green
    September 10, 2016 / 8:02 am

    My daughter the little bookworm!

  78. Margaret Clarkson
    September 9, 2016 / 10:55 pm

    My friend’s daughter.

  79. Rebecca Nisbet
    September 7, 2016 / 10:28 pm

    i would give them to my stepdaughter.

  80. Donna Clinton
    September 7, 2016 / 10:07 pm

    My daughter would love these books

  81. Solange
    September 7, 2016 / 7:49 pm

    My daughter would love them.

  82. helen tovell
    September 7, 2016 / 12:47 pm

    My daughter

  83. Katie Skeoch
    September 6, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    My niece would love these

  84. Lisa Wilkinson
    September 6, 2016 / 2:07 pm

    I’d give them to my niece

  85. Stevie
    September 6, 2016 / 1:39 pm

    My niece, who has just started school, loves to read a book at nigh time.

  86. Kay Panayi
    September 5, 2016 / 9:01 pm

    My lovely daughter Daisy

  87. Katie b
    September 5, 2016 / 6:19 pm

    My niece she loves reading

  88. September 5, 2016 / 4:42 pm

    I would review them myself and then pass them over to my partner’s neices

  89. Kelly Hooper
    September 5, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    my daughter

  90. Simon tutthill
    September 5, 2016 / 1:22 pm

    I know my young niece would love this prize

  91. Julie Henderson
    September 5, 2016 / 11:34 am

    my niece who is 8

  92. ADEINNE TONNER
    September 5, 2016 / 11:33 am

    If i was lucky enough to win i think i would keep these books for myself.

  93. sb
    September 5, 2016 / 10:11 am

    daisy

  94. Sarah Mackay
    September 5, 2016 / 8:29 am

    my neice Lily

  95. Paul Halling
    September 5, 2016 / 8:26 am

    One of my nieces !!

  96. Rebecca williams
    September 5, 2016 / 6:49 am

    I would give these books to my son’s 🙂

  97. amy bondoc
    September 4, 2016 / 9:11 pm

    i would give these to my daughter shes a little bookworm 1

  98. Corinne Peat
    September 4, 2016 / 7:12 pm

    I would give them to my daughter

  99. Jayne L
    September 4, 2016 / 7:05 pm

    My great niece would love these

  100. Michelle Ferguson
    September 4, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    I would give them to my nephew

  101. claire woods
    September 4, 2016 / 12:57 pm

    They would be for my son.

  102. Angela Kelly
    September 4, 2016 / 12:01 pm

    I’m a school librarian so I have 850 potential readers of these books (plus me of course!)

  103. janine atkin
    September 4, 2016 / 11:53 am

    id give these to my niece

  104. EJ Dunn
    September 3, 2016 / 10:45 pm

    These would go to the library in the school I teach at

  105. Rebecca Mercer
    September 3, 2016 / 9:38 pm

    my son

  106. Carly Belsey
    September 3, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    My best friend’s daughter as she loves reading, my son does too but it’s her birthday coming up 🙂

  107. katherine s
    September 3, 2016 / 3:31 pm

    My niece, she loves reading.

  108. cheryl hadfield
    September 3, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    My daughter is a real bookworm, I know she would love these

  109. Adeline M
    September 3, 2016 / 9:14 am

    My daughter, she loves reading!

  110. Angela McDonald
    September 3, 2016 / 3:23 am

    My niece would receive these books and she’d love them!

  111. Margaret Gallagher
    September 2, 2016 / 7:32 pm

    My nephew would love these beauties

  112. michelle o'neill
    September 2, 2016 / 7:22 pm

    My Grandaughter x

  113. Karen Barrett
    September 2, 2016 / 6:17 pm

    My Grand-Daughter

  114. Andrea Fletcher
    September 2, 2016 / 5:41 pm

    My granddaughter would love these.

  115. Kim M
    September 2, 2016 / 4:52 pm

    My niece would love these x

  116. Kirsty Hosty
    September 2, 2016 / 2:04 pm

    Our best friends children

  117. JULIE WARD
    September 2, 2016 / 1:13 pm

    The grandchildren would have to share them

  118. Aaron Broad
    September 2, 2016 / 11:13 am

    I would give these to my sister

  119. Ray Dodds
    September 2, 2016 / 10:56 am

    My granddaughter who just loves books and to read

  120. Ruth Harwood
    September 2, 2016 / 7:35 am

    My niece, a complete bookworm!!

  121. Susan Lloyd
    September 2, 2016 / 12:19 am

    My eldest daughter would love these books x

  122. jules eley
    September 1, 2016 / 9:54 pm

    These would be for my book worm daughter 🙂 x

  123. samantha price
    September 1, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    they would go to my grandson

  124. leigh boyle
    September 1, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    my step daughter xx

  125. Popcorn
    September 1, 2016 / 8:44 pm

    My son

  126. iain maciver
    September 1, 2016 / 7:41 pm

    my niece

  127. Laura Pritchard
    September 1, 2016 / 7:33 pm

    My little boy, and then my daughter when she’s older.

  128. Paula Readings
    September 1, 2016 / 7:07 pm

    This would be for my grandson.

  129. Colin Gault
    September 1, 2016 / 6:56 pm

    My niece

  130. Kim Styles
    September 1, 2016 / 6:15 pm

    My daughter -she would love to read them

  131. Hayley F
    September 1, 2016 / 3:09 pm

    My neice as she loves reading and these look fab x

  132. laura stewart
    September 1, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    for my daughter x

  133. Louise Crocker
    September 1, 2016 / 2:57 pm

    I would give these books to my daughter because she loves to read

  134. Ann marie Gould
    September 1, 2016 / 2:47 pm

    if I won these books id give them to my niece , she is an avid reader , thanks for such a great competition

  135. Annabel Greaves
    September 1, 2016 / 2:14 pm

    My daughter would love to read these

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *