Review & Giveaway: The Poppy Pym Series by Laura Wood

I had never heard of the Poppy Pym series before I was contacted. A good blurb on the book sold me I’m afraid in the email. So here I am reviewing this great series for kids, and also on day 1 of the Poppy Pym Blog Tour!

Oh and to host a little giveaway of the two books for you. I think they will make an excellent Christmas gift for kids.

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx

Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx book cover

Book Description

From the Winner of the Scholastic Montegrappa Prize for New Children’s Writing It’s Halloween at Saint Smithen’s. When the Brimwell town hall burns down, the amateur production of Macbeth is moved to the school and it’s all hands on deck. But when the play is struck by a series of mysterious attacks, it’s up to Poppy, her friends and her circus family to save the play and unmask the culprit.

My Review

I got into Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx straight away.  I actually read this book, which is book 2 before Poppy Pym and the Pharoah’s Curse (book 1) but I didn’t feel disadvantaged at all.

Poppy is a fantastic character that the author Laura Wood has got just perfect. Laura’s writing style is great for kids. Actually great for adults too! I used to love books like this when I was a kid. Mystery, suspense and a who-dunnit! This book fills that spot. I’m not embarrassed to say I adore reading kids books when I have a few spare minutes. If you are looking for a quick adventurous read, the Poppy Pym books are for you!

Title: Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx (Poppy Pym #2)

Author: Laura Wood

Release Date: 1st September 2016

Genre: MG Mystery

Publisher: Scholastic

 

I have given Poppy Pym and the Double Jinx 5 out of 5 stars.

Poppy Pym and the Pharaoh’s Curse

 

Poppy Pym and the Pharaoh's Curse

Book Description

The extraordinary story of a little girl raised in a circus who is about to embark on a boarding school adventure. Featuring an ancient Egyptian curse, two best friends (one who wants to be taller and one who knows everything), secretive teachers, dangerous accidents, a mystery to be solved and a menagerie of circus characters.

My Review

The Pharoah’s Curse introduces you to Poppy Pym and her circus family. Poppy was abandoned as a baby and brought up by Madame Pym’s Spectacular Travelling Circus. She is about to turn 12 and so her circus family decide to send her to boarding school to meet kids of her own age.

This book is full of humour, mystery, magic and mayhem. Perfect for 9-12 year olds to learn and gather a love for reading and how to get absorbed into a book you are unable to put down. Yet again like Double Jinx a fast paced adventurous read.

I have given Poppy Pym and the Pharoah’s Curse 5 out of 5 stars

 

Here is the list of the other bloggers participating in the Poppy Pym blog tour. Please pop over and have a look at the other reviews and posts.

Poppy-Pym-2-Blog-Tour-Banner

Giveaway

Now onto the giveaway. I feel honoured to be able to give away one set of Poppy Pym books to one lucky reader. Please enter via the Rafflecopter below. It’s open to all UK and IRL residents.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

rachelbustin.com

*I was given these products in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

*Terms and Conditions – There is 1 prize of a set (book 1 &2 ) of the Poppy Pym series. The prize is non-transferable and no cash alternative will be offered. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter.com from all valid entries and be notified by Twitter. The winner will have 14 days to respond with a valid address before a new winner is selected. Open to all UK and IRL entrants aged 18 or over only. Facebook and Twitter are in no way associated with this giveaway.

*I am a part of the Amazon affiliate scheme, so if you click on the link to buy I will receive a little back. So thanks if you do.

Competitions at ThePrizeFinder

SuperLucky Blog Giveaway Linky
Thank you for sharing
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

136 Comments

  1. Joanna Kasznicki
    17th September 2016 / 11:08 pm

    My niece Rosie

  2. Caroline Bourne
    17th September 2016 / 10:56 pm

    My little cousin

  3. Rich Tyler
    17th September 2016 / 10:55 pm

    My Niece

  4. Emma choonage
    17th September 2016 / 9:01 pm

    My nearly 3 year old enjoys looking at books and talking about the pictures.

  5. sharon martin
    17th September 2016 / 8:57 pm

    i’d give them to my daughter

  6. Philip Underwood
    17th September 2016 / 8:51 pm

    My children!

  7. Kay Broomfield
    17th September 2016 / 8:45 pm

    I’d share these with both my children

  8. Karen Howden
    17th September 2016 / 8:05 pm

    I would give these to my daughter

  9. Karen Scott
    17th September 2016 / 7:58 pm

    My daughter

  10. karen watt
    17th September 2016 / 7:43 pm

    My Daughter

  11. nichola betteridge
    17th September 2016 / 7:29 pm

    i would give them to my daughter 🙂

  12. Miss Tracy Hanson
    17th September 2016 / 7:10 pm

    My great-niece Phoenix would love these. Thanks for the chance.

  13. kelly morgan
    17th September 2016 / 5:42 pm

    These would be great for my friends daughter.

  14. Natalie Crossan
    17th September 2016 / 5:38 pm

    My daughter xxx

  15. amanda greensmith
    17th September 2016 / 4:09 pm

    my niece

  16. Spencer Broadley
    17th September 2016 / 2:05 pm

    My young niece would adore them

  17. Teresa sheldon
    17th September 2016 / 1:38 pm

    My daughter Katie, loves to read and would really enjoy these splendid books

  18. Andrea Morton
    17th September 2016 / 12:45 pm

    my two daughters and I’d probably read them myself

  19. Jamie Millard
    17th September 2016 / 11:49 am

    they’d go to my niece

  20. marie miles
    17th September 2016 / 11:45 am

    if i was the lucky winner of these books i would give them to my daughter who is a huge book worm and loves reading.

  21. Rebecca Hussey
    17th September 2016 / 11:43 am

    I’d love these for my daughter

  22. Stephanie Keill
    17th September 2016 / 11:34 am

    My son would love this thank you very much for the chance

  23. Lisa C
    17th September 2016 / 11:14 am

    The lucky recipient would be my eight year old; he would love these. He is a big fan of adventure and mystery books.

  24. Lisa Mcalley
    17th September 2016 / 10:53 am

    I would read them to my special needs son and then my youngest two would have them as they love reading. I’m sure I would enjoy them too.

  25. nicola james
    17th September 2016 / 9:20 am

    i would give them to my daughter

  26. Hayley TOdd
    17th September 2016 / 8:25 am

    If I was the lucky winner I would give these amazing books to my daughter as she is the biggest book reader I know!

  27. carol boffey
    17th September 2016 / 7:57 am

    My cousins daughter

  28. paula cheadle
    16th September 2016 / 11:57 pm

    i’d like these books for my youngest granddaughter

  29. Sarah KNIGHTLEY
    16th September 2016 / 11:03 pm

    I would give these to my daughter ❤️❤️

  30. Rachel Craig
    16th September 2016 / 10:36 pm

    My nephew.

  31. Holly Walker
    16th September 2016 / 9:14 pm

    my friends son for christmas (my daughter is only 1 but im sure he would read them to her or pass them to her when he is too old)

  32. Kate Sabin-Burns
    16th September 2016 / 8:03 pm

    My Niece 😀

  33. Toni Pearson
    16th September 2016 / 7:52 pm

    I would donate them to my son’s school.

  34. AnnaH
    16th September 2016 / 7:23 pm

    My daughter is an avid reader but hasn’t tried these yet so I would give my prize to her

  35. christine WESTLAKE
    16th September 2016 / 4:55 pm

    grandchildren

  36. Barbara Handley
    16th September 2016 / 4:16 pm

    My granddaughters would enjoy these.

  37. Emma
    16th September 2016 / 3:17 pm

    My little sister would love these 🙂

  38. Lisa George
    16th September 2016 / 3:16 pm

    My daughter Sophie 🙂

  39. Victoria Thurgood
    16th September 2016 / 3:13 pm

    My daughter

  40. Andrew Hindley
    16th September 2016 / 2:58 pm

    I would give the books to my grandchild

  41. helen w
    16th September 2016 / 2:41 pm

    my Great -Neice who is aptly called Poppy

  42. lynn neal
    16th September 2016 / 11:16 am

    My four lovely grandchildren!

  43. Wendy Becker
    16th September 2016 / 10:34 am

    Our grandson

  44. Elspeth MacMillan
    16th September 2016 / 10:23 am

    My oldest Granddaughter Emma 😀

  45. Sarah Parker
    16th September 2016 / 10:22 am

    my daughter would love these 🙂

  46. Lisa Houston
    16th September 2016 / 8:13 am

    Id give to my eldest daughter Rhiannon. I think she would love them

  47. David Crabb
    16th September 2016 / 7:33 am

    These would go to our daughter and thanks for the opportunity.

  48. Adrian Bold
    16th September 2016 / 1:08 am

    I’d give them to my Mum as she loves these style of books.

  49. donna large
    15th September 2016 / 9:25 pm

    my granddaughter brooke who loves reading

  50. Sheri Darby
    15th September 2016 / 8:13 pm

    My daughter would love these

  51. Ed Hill
    15th September 2016 / 8:06 pm

    My niece

  52. Kay Lou Smith
    15th September 2016 / 7:45 pm

    My daughter 🙂

  53. Allan Fullarton
    15th September 2016 / 5:42 pm

    My daughter would love these!

  54. jeremy mclaughlin
    15th September 2016 / 4:42 pm

    Would be my niece.

  55. LEE HARDY
    15th September 2016 / 3:52 pm

    I would give the to my daughter who would love reading them.

  56. Jodie harvey
    15th September 2016 / 1:29 pm

    i would give them to my son Thomas, he would love them!

  57. Eleanor Baker
    15th September 2016 / 12:34 pm

    My daughter Fiona

  58. Victoria Prince
    15th September 2016 / 11:13 am

    I don’t care that I am far too old, these sound exactly the sort of books I loved reading! So I will be reading them myself, and then giving them to my friend’s daughter 🙂

  59. JO
    15th September 2016 / 11:03 am

    My bookworm daughter 🙂

  60. Clare Munden
    15th September 2016 / 10:47 am

    My niece would love these 🙂

  61. Emilia nastaly-howard
    15th September 2016 / 10:10 am

    Surely my daughter 🙂

  62. A.E. ADKINS
    15th September 2016 / 9:57 am

    Santa would be the initial recipient of these books in our house!

  63. Rachel Butterworth
    14th September 2016 / 9:28 pm

    My niece.

  64. Joy Connor
    14th September 2016 / 8:21 pm

    My daughter would love these I think!

  65. katie w
    14th September 2016 / 8:12 pm

    I would give them to my niece as she would love them

  66. CHRISTINE SUTHERLAND
    14th September 2016 / 6:09 pm

    I would give the prize to my grand daughters

  67. Jennifer Toal
    13th September 2016 / 7:22 pm

    My step daughter

  68. Kelly Ellen Hirst
    12th September 2016 / 10:49 pm

    My daughter – she would love them

  69. Lynsey Buchanan
    12th September 2016 / 8:58 pm

    If I won I would give the books to my daughter.

  70. leanne weir
    12th September 2016 / 8:11 pm

    my boy would love these

  71. Kerry Kilmister
    12th September 2016 / 3:02 pm

    These would be for my oldest daughter – she is a self confessed bookworm like mmyself

  72. Donna Caldwell
    12th September 2016 / 11:29 am

    My daughter she loves reading

  73. Kimberley Ryan
    12th September 2016 / 11:03 am

    I would give them to my daughter, she loves to read and would really enjoy these

  74. Pamela Gossage
    12th September 2016 / 10:50 am

    I would give them to my granddaughter

  75. Susan B
    12th September 2016 / 9:35 am

    Our eldest would really enjoy losing herself in a quiet corner reading these books.

  76. Susan Hunt
    11th September 2016 / 7:57 am

    I will leave them in the family holiday home for all the kids each weekend.

  77. Kate Green
    10th September 2016 / 8:02 am

    My daughter the little bookworm!

  78. Margaret Clarkson
    9th September 2016 / 10:55 pm

    My friend’s daughter.

  79. Rebecca Nisbet
    7th September 2016 / 10:28 pm

    i would give them to my stepdaughter.

  80. Donna Clinton
    7th September 2016 / 10:07 pm

    My daughter would love these books

  81. Solange
    7th September 2016 / 7:49 pm

    My daughter would love them.

  82. helen tovell
    7th September 2016 / 12:47 pm

    My daughter

  83. Katie Skeoch
    6th September 2016 / 5:07 pm

    My niece would love these

  84. Lisa Wilkinson
    6th September 2016 / 2:07 pm

    I’d give them to my niece

  85. Stevie
    6th September 2016 / 1:39 pm

    My niece, who has just started school, loves to read a book at nigh time.

  86. Kay Panayi
    5th September 2016 / 9:01 pm

    My lovely daughter Daisy

  87. Katie b
    5th September 2016 / 6:19 pm

    My niece she loves reading

  88. 5th September 2016 / 4:42 pm

    I would review them myself and then pass them over to my partner’s neices

  89. Kelly Hooper
    5th September 2016 / 2:15 pm

    my daughter

  90. Simon tutthill
    5th September 2016 / 1:22 pm

    I know my young niece would love this prize

  91. Julie Henderson
    5th September 2016 / 11:34 am

    my niece who is 8

  92. ADEINNE TONNER
    5th September 2016 / 11:33 am

    If i was lucky enough to win i think i would keep these books for myself.

  93. sb
    5th September 2016 / 10:11 am

    daisy

  94. Sarah Mackay
    5th September 2016 / 8:29 am

    my neice Lily

  95. Paul Halling
    5th September 2016 / 8:26 am

    One of my nieces !!

  96. Rebecca williams
    5th September 2016 / 6:49 am

    I would give these books to my son’s 🙂

  97. amy bondoc
    4th September 2016 / 9:11 pm

    i would give these to my daughter shes a little bookworm 1

  98. Corinne Peat
    4th September 2016 / 7:12 pm

    I would give them to my daughter

  99. Jayne L
    4th September 2016 / 7:05 pm

    My great niece would love these

  100. Michelle Ferguson
    4th September 2016 / 1:15 pm

    I would give them to my nephew

  101. claire woods
    4th September 2016 / 12:57 pm

    They would be for my son.

  102. Angela Kelly
    4th September 2016 / 12:01 pm

    I’m a school librarian so I have 850 potential readers of these books (plus me of course!)

  103. janine atkin
    4th September 2016 / 11:53 am

    id give these to my niece

  104. EJ Dunn
    3rd September 2016 / 10:45 pm

    These would go to the library in the school I teach at

  105. Rebecca Mercer
    3rd September 2016 / 9:38 pm

    my son

  106. Carly Belsey
    3rd September 2016 / 7:36 pm

    My best friend’s daughter as she loves reading, my son does too but it’s her birthday coming up 🙂

  107. katherine s
    3rd September 2016 / 3:31 pm

    My niece, she loves reading.

  108. cheryl hadfield
    3rd September 2016 / 3:08 pm

    My daughter is a real bookworm, I know she would love these

  109. Adeline M
    3rd September 2016 / 9:14 am

    My daughter, she loves reading!

  110. Angela McDonald
    3rd September 2016 / 3:23 am

    My niece would receive these books and she’d love them!

  111. Margaret Gallagher
    2nd September 2016 / 7:32 pm

    My nephew would love these beauties

  112. michelle o'neill
    2nd September 2016 / 7:22 pm

    My Grandaughter x

  113. Karen Barrett
    2nd September 2016 / 6:17 pm

    My Grand-Daughter

  114. Andrea Fletcher
    2nd September 2016 / 5:41 pm

    My granddaughter would love these.

  115. Kim M
    2nd September 2016 / 4:52 pm

    My niece would love these x

  116. Kirsty Hosty
    2nd September 2016 / 2:04 pm

    Our best friends children

  117. JULIE WARD
    2nd September 2016 / 1:13 pm

    The grandchildren would have to share them

  118. Aaron Broad
    2nd September 2016 / 11:13 am

    I would give these to my sister

  119. Ray Dodds
    2nd September 2016 / 10:56 am

    My granddaughter who just loves books and to read

  120. Ruth Harwood
    2nd September 2016 / 7:35 am

    My niece, a complete bookworm!!

  121. Susan Lloyd
    2nd September 2016 / 12:19 am

    My eldest daughter would love these books x

  122. jules eley
    1st September 2016 / 9:54 pm

    These would be for my book worm daughter 🙂 x

  123. samantha price
    1st September 2016 / 9:06 pm

    they would go to my grandson

  124. leigh boyle
    1st September 2016 / 8:50 pm

    my step daughter xx

  125. Popcorn
    1st September 2016 / 8:44 pm

    My son

  126. iain maciver
    1st September 2016 / 7:41 pm

    my niece

  127. Laura Pritchard
    1st September 2016 / 7:33 pm

    My little boy, and then my daughter when she’s older.

  128. Paula Readings
    1st September 2016 / 7:07 pm

    This would be for my grandson.

  129. Colin Gault
    1st September 2016 / 6:56 pm

    My niece

  130. Kim Styles
    1st September 2016 / 6:15 pm

    My daughter -she would love to read them

  131. Hayley F
    1st September 2016 / 3:09 pm

    My neice as she loves reading and these look fab x

  132. laura stewart
    1st September 2016 / 3:08 pm

    for my daughter x

  133. Louise Crocker
    1st September 2016 / 2:57 pm

    I would give these books to my daughter because she loves to read

  134. Ann marie Gould
    1st September 2016 / 2:47 pm

    if I won these books id give them to my niece , she is an avid reader , thanks for such a great competition

  135. Annabel Greaves
    1st September 2016 / 2:14 pm

    My daughter would love to read these

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.