Product Review: Sensio Steamer

I have used a steamer saucepan set that you use on the hob, but never tried an electric steamer. When I was asked to share my thoughts on the Sensio Steamer I was eager to try it out.

Steaming food is much healthier than frying and you don’t lose the goodness out of the food like boiling. It works by continuously boiling water, releasing steam that thoroughly cooks the food in the baskets above without the use of extra oils or fats. This also retains vitamins and nutrients and makes it a far healthier choice than frying or roasting.

Sensio Steamer review

View Post

Wicked Uncle Toys – Wooden Train Set Review

We worked with Wicked Uncle back in 2016 on a challenge post with them and it was such great fun! This year we are simply writing a review on a toy we have chosen to look at. Which happens to be a fantastic little wooden railway train set.

Wooden train set review

A little about Wicked Uncle

Wicked Uncle gave us the opportunity to select toys to review with a £40 voucher. I love how their site is divided into age categories plus boys and girls toys. Yes I know some people find it wrong to have boys and girls toys and they should be gender neutral or whatever, but I grew up with girls and boys toys and so did my generation and we are alright!

View Post

Living Arrows 10/53 (2018)

Welcome back to our little weekly round-up of Living Arrows 10/53 (2018). I’m enjoying getting into the routine of sharing a little bit of our life and how my gorgeous 2 year old is growing away so fast!

You can catch up on last week’s post here : Living Arrows 9/53.

The idea behind Living Arrows is to celebrate childhood. It’s name is taken from a poem by Kahlil Gibran,

“You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth”

 

Living Arrows 10/53 (2018)

View Post

Baby Gift Guide and Useful Items for Mums

In 8 weeks time our new baby girl will be here. This pregnancy has gone so much faster than the first. Maybe it’s because I’m running around after a 2 year old. These past few weeks I’ve been putting together this baby gift guide and useful items for mums.

There are ideas of things to buy a newborn for a gift and also items for mum as well. I’ve been getting lots of inspiration by chatting to wonderful work colleague who is expecting her first in a few weeks, and also my younger sister who is also expecting her second child and due only 2 weeks before me. There are babies everywhere! Must be something in the water!

Baby Gift Guide

These are things that would make lovely gifts for a baby.

General Relativity for babies

Being a bit of a science geek, I couldn’t resist this adorable babies’ book. It’s a hard board book with wipe clean surfaces. Bold illustrations with simple words. Great for getting a head start on Science! Other books in the series include Rocket Science and Quantum Physics. The book also comes in a cute woodland animals cloth bag.

Stockist: The Secret Garden Book Co.

RRP: £7.99

General Relativity for Babies

View Post

Blog Tour: A Known Evil by Aidan Conway

Today I’m on the blog tour for A Known Evil by Aidan Conway. This time I’m sharing an extract with you instead of a review. I have read the book. Let’s just say you are in for a treat!

 

A Known Evil by Aidan Conway

 

Before I share with you an extract from A Known Evil, here is a little bit about the book:

Book Description

A serial killer stalks the streets of Rome…

A gripping debut crime novel and the first in a groundbreaking series, from a new star in British crime fiction. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin.

A city on lockdown.
In the depths of a freakish winter, Rome is being torn apart by a serial killer dubbed The Carpenter intent on spreading fear and violence. Soon another woman is murdered – hammered to death and left with a cryptic message nailed to her chest.

A detective in danger.
Maverick Detective Inspectors Rossi and Carrara are assigned to the investigation. But when Rossi’s girlfriend is attacked – left in a coma in hospital – he becomes the killer’s new obsession and his own past hurtles back to haunt him.

A killer out of control.
As the body count rises, with one perfect murder on the heels of another, the case begins to spiral out of control. In a city wracked by corruption and paranoia, the question is: how much is Rossi willing to sacrifice to get to the truth? View Post

Favourite Shows From London Fashion Week

London Fashion Week is always spectacular, but you know it’s truly something special when you have Queen Elizabeth II sat in the front row! She attended the Richard Quinn show, but which other shows got everyone talking?

Favourite Shows from London Fashion Week

Photo by Kris Atomic on Unsplash

Here’s a rundown of our favourite catwalks from the event:

Burberry

On Day Two, Burberry brought colour to the catwalk! Fusing stand-out shades onto contemporary casual wear, Burberry retained its image as a forward-thinking, urban brand.

Key pieces that caught our eye included blush-pink sweaters, scarlet jackets and chunky lemon jumpers. For an extra splash of colour, Burberry showcased rainbow sparkles and multi-coloured gilets. This was creative director Christopher Bailey’s final show for Burberry, and he dedicated his last collection to: “the best and brightest organisations supporting LGBTQ rights around the world”. Once most famous for its traditional beige checks and trench coats, Burberry’s intelligent use of colour and drive for hyper-modern street wear and athleisure clothing has made it one of London Fashion Week’s standout shows.

How can you get Burberry’s catwalk look? Start by choosing bright colours and bold prints. Select contemporary athleisure styles — such as bomber jackets and oversized sweatshirts — and never shy away from check prints and the streamlined silhouette of a vintage trench coat.

View Post