The Children of Lovely Lane Review & Giveaway

I’m very pleased to be on the blog tour for Nadine Dorries book The Children of Lovely Lane. Nadine’s first book in the Lovely Lane series – The Angels of Lovely Lane is also available.

The Lovely Lane series is based in 1950’s Liverpool around a group of nurses who are training at the St Angelus Hospital and live the in Lovely Lane nurses home.

The Children of Lovely Lane by Nadine Dorries

Book Description

The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards.

St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south.

The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it.

Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go.

My Review

It’s been a long while since I read a similar book to The Children of Lovely Lane. It truly was a breath of fresh air. Well written characters that become people you care about throughout the book. I have yet to read the first book – The Angels of Lovely Lane but it doesn’t stop you getting into this one. I’m going to pop back and read that one after!

Emily is the director of nursing at St Angelus and the hospital is looking for a new assistant matron. Dr Gaskell think Emily is the solution. He has nothing but praise for her. But Emily is torn between her group of current nurses who she wants to see through to their finals and the job she really wants.

But none of this matters when the members of the board have overruled Dr Gaskell and hire Miss Van Gilder who hides a secret.

I won’t spoil anymore of the story for you, but you are in for a treat!

Totally addictive reading that’s perfect for a cold winter evening.

Blog tour

Here is the schedule for the rest of the blog tour. Why not pop over and check out the others on the tour?

The Children of Lovely Lane Nadine Dorries Blog Tour

Giveaway

Now over to the giveaway. I have one copy of The Children of Lovely Lane by Nadine Dorries to giveaway to one person. To enter please fill in the rafflecopter below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good Luck!

rachelbustin.com

*I was given a copy of The Children of Lovely Lane in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own as always. This post contains affiliate links.

*Terms and Conditions – There is one copy of The Children of Lovely Lane to giveaway. The prize is non-transferable and no cash alternative will be offered. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter.com from all valid entries and be notified by Twitter. The winner will have 28 days to respond with a valid UK address before a new winner is selected. Open to all UK entrants aged 18 or over only. Facebook and Twitter are in no way associated with this giveaway. The prize will be delivered direct from the publishers. 

Share

50 Comments

  1. laura stewart
    December 7, 2016 / 7:11 pm

    real crime books i like x

  2. Richard Tyler
    December 7, 2016 / 6:58 pm

    Sci Fi 🙂

  3. carol boffey
    December 7, 2016 / 5:42 pm

    horror books

  4. Joanna Ford
    December 7, 2016 / 5:33 pm

    I love thriller books as you never know what is going to happen and they keep you on your toes!

  5. Michelle Wild
    December 7, 2016 / 5:24 pm

    Murder mysteries because I love figuring out who did what to whom.

  6. Victoria Thurgood
    December 7, 2016 / 2:53 pm

    i like horror books

  7. Sam Cornford
    December 7, 2016 / 2:48 pm

    Horror – I love Stephen King.

  8. claire davey
    December 7, 2016 / 2:03 pm

    love a books based on true stories

  9. Pam Francis Gregory
    December 7, 2016 / 1:58 pm

    I Love Sci Fi as the possibilities are endless!

  10. Ruth Liddle-Howden
    December 7, 2016 / 1:35 pm

    Thrillers

  11. December 7, 2016 / 12:03 pm

    I love biographies, like to know about celebs lives and how they got to where they got to, find some very inspirational and motivating to achieve what I want to achieve

  12. Louise Bennett
    December 7, 2016 / 10:57 am

    Romantic

  13. angela edmonds
    December 7, 2016 / 8:48 am

    I like a variety but thrillers with a twist are my favourites xx

  14. Tracy Newton
    December 7, 2016 / 6:23 am

    I love chic lit. They always have a happy ending. I find that I can switch off when I read them

  15. Paula Cheadle
    December 7, 2016 / 4:38 am

    Crime, thrillers and romance

  16. lucy knight
    December 7, 2016 / 12:58 am

    I read most genres but love a bit of romance and biographies

  17. claire little
    December 6, 2016 / 11:54 pm

    crime fiction

  18. Lisa Wilkinson
    December 6, 2016 / 8:59 pm

    I love fantasy the best as I love being taken to other worlds where there are mythical creatures.

  19. Steven Beasley
    December 6, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    Crime fiction because its so easy to get hooked into reading the next page

  20. Sheri Darby
    December 6, 2016 / 6:57 pm

    I read just about everything.

  21. beryl Johnson
    December 6, 2016 / 6:11 pm

    sci fi as like to have my imagination stimulated

  22. beky austerberry
    December 6, 2016 / 1:34 pm

    Historical fiction – it can be mystery, romance or family saga but love stories set in the past!

  23. Elspeth MacMillan
    December 6, 2016 / 10:01 am

    I like something light as life can be dark enough

  24. KATHY D
    December 6, 2016 / 9:48 am

    Romance – particularly in war time

  25. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    December 6, 2016 / 7:53 am

    Rom coms – make me smile and cry all at the same time!

  26. CHRISTINE SUTHERLAND
    December 6, 2016 / 1:56 am

    A good detective thriller, I try to guess the outcome

  27. December 5, 2016 / 7:40 pm

    I like the kind of comedy book that has me laughing out loud.

  28. Jo Glasspool
    December 5, 2016 / 1:06 am

    I do love a good thriller, something to keep my guessing.

  29. carole n
    December 4, 2016 / 8:36 pm

    love to read interesting autobiographies

  30. Lauren Old
    December 4, 2016 / 1:02 pm

    Mine would be comedy because it always cheers me up

  31. Spencer Broadley
    December 3, 2016 / 9:53 am

    I love either mysteries (eg Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter) or amusing books (eg PG Wodehouse). The first because I like to try and work out the murderer and the second because it always puts a smile on my face – depends on my mood which genre I read though

  32. Kim M
    December 2, 2016 / 9:10 pm

    Like thrillers – like trying to work out all the twists and turns x

  33. Corinne Peat
    December 1, 2016 / 6:35 pm

    I love mystery!

  34. clair downham
    December 1, 2016 / 9:37 am

    i dont get time to read much but thriller or crime thankyou

  35. michelle o'neill
    December 1, 2016 / 8:15 am

    horror x i love a good scare!

  36. Ellie Wood
    December 1, 2016 / 8:13 am

    Crime fiction its so addictive

  37. Sue McCarthy
    December 1, 2016 / 7:58 am

    I don’t get much time to read but my mum reads a lot so I’d like to win this book for her

  38. Sue McCarthy
    December 1, 2016 / 7:58 am

    I don’t get much time to read but my mum reads a lot so I’d like to win this book for her

  39. Emma Rawlinson
    November 30, 2016 / 11:22 pm

    Romance because it allows me to daydream

  40. lucy higgins
    November 30, 2016 / 11:08 pm

    i like 40s books about the war, i find it really interesting

  41. samantha price
    November 30, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    i like historical books

  42. Samantha O'D
    November 30, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    Crime and thriller

  43. Jo Carroll
    November 30, 2016 / 8:05 pm

    I like ‘Future’ fiction novels…the more ‘way out there’ the better. I love reading about the possibilities of what might come – good and bad….aliens, time travel, future tech, robots!

  44. Andrea Fletcher
    November 30, 2016 / 6:57 pm

    I like Chic Lit.

  45. Simon Tutthill
    November 30, 2016 / 3:39 pm

    Love autobiographies

  46. Ray Becker
    November 30, 2016 / 2:44 pm

    Mine are SiFi/Horror History

  47. leanne weir
    November 30, 2016 / 2:08 pm

    I love thrillers

  48. amy bondoc
    November 30, 2016 / 12:13 pm

    i love crime fiction ,just love the suspense of wondering who done it!

  49. Jo Hutchinson
    November 30, 2016 / 11:31 am

    I love a good mystery book.

  50. Annabel Greaves
    November 30, 2016 / 10:23 am

    I love crime fiction as I enjoy a good page turner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *